Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Land use – Using land sustainably

Indicator 11.1.c: Density of settlements

SDG-11.3.1
(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2018 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Taking 2000 as a base year, the indicator shows the development of population numbers per square kilometre of settlement or transport area.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The density of settlements indicator provides information about the efficiency of settlement land use. The goal of the German Government is to counteract the reduction in settlement density by implementing space-saving measures for all new construction, brownfield development, reduction of residential and commercial vacancy, and densification or dedensification of built-up areas.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-02-15: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Settlement density looks at the number of inhabitants in relation to the amount of settlement and transport area – in contrast to population density, which is based on the entire land area.

Apart from residential building land, settlement land includes areas of special functional character (such as hospitals and schools), industrial and commercial land, mixed-use land (such as shopping streets), and areas for sports, leisure and recreation. Changes in the number of inhabitants and changes in the extent of settlement and transport area both affect figures for the density of settlements.

Settlement density varies considerably between rural and non-rural areas, with the figures for 2018 showing an average of 3,344 people per square kilometre of settlement and transport area in non-rural districts but around 1,205 in rural districts. 2018). Residential building land in towns and cities is frequently much more densely developed, and with more multiple-floor buildings, than in rural regions, where more scattered development incorporating larger unsealed areas such as domestic gardens is prevalent.

From 2000 to 2009, there was a steady decline in settlement density in both rural and non-rural regions. The reduction in absolute terms is slightly smaller in non-rural areas than in rural regions. In relative terms, given the distinctly lower settlement density in rural areas, the reduction was considerably greater there, at 11%, than the 4% reduction observed in non-rural areas. Settlement density in non-rural regions been rising again since 2011. This shows that settlement and transport area in relatively urban areas is being used more efficiently than in previous years.

Looking at the trends in population numbers and settlement and transport area separately reveals marked differences between rural and non-rural regions. Between 2000 and 2018, the amount of settlement and transport area in both rural and non-rural regions increased, though to differing extents – by 15% and 8% respectively. After rising slightly at the beginning of the century, the rural population then shrank by approximately 2.3% before increasing again by 1.8% between 2010 and 2018. In contrast, the population in non-rural regions grew by 1.7% between 2000 and 2010 and again, by 5.4%, between 2011 and 2018. The effects that the development of additional settlement and transport area had on the indicator were therefore amplified in rural regions by the declining population numbers there.

The data sources for this indicator are the population figures and the area survey by type of actual use compiled by the Federal Statistical Office. In the population numbers, the 2011 census caused a jump in the time series. Some areas of land have moreover been reclassified in the official land register maintained by the Länder in recent years, without any actual change in the way they are used. Additionally, the switch from the old to the new land-use classification system was completed in 2016, which affected the official land-use statistics such that the data for 2016 are not directly comparable to those for previous years. So that comparisons can nevertheless be drawn, the relevant values were extrapolated on the basis of the 2011 census and the 2016 reform of the land-use survey.

The distinction between rural and non-rural is based on a classification used by the Thünen Institute. The institute ascribes a degree of rurality to districts and district-free cities on the basis of geographical characteristics such as settlement density and share of farmland and woodland. The classification is thus applied to whole districts rather than to smaller entities like towns or villages.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

11.1.c Density of settlements

Target

No reduction in density of settlements

Year

2015

2016

2017

2018

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Statistical Office

Organisation

Federal Statistical Office

Source 2

 Federal Office for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development

Organisation

Federal Office for Research on Building, Urban Affairs and Spatial Development

Source 3

 Johann Heinrich von Thünen Institute

Organisation

Johann Heinrich von Thünen Institute

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Flächeninanspruchnahme – Flächen nachhaltig nutzen

Indikator 11.1.c: Siedlungsdichte

SDG-11.3.1
(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2018 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator zeigt die Entwicklung der Bevölkerung je Quadratkilometer Siedlungs- und Verkehrsfläche im Vergleich zum Basisjahr 2000.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator „Siedlungsdichte“ gibt Hinweise auf die Effizienz der Siedlungsflächennutzung. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es, durch flächensparende Maßnahmen beim Neubau und bei der Innenentwicklung wie der Reduzierung von Wohnungs- und Gewerbeleerstand sowie Nachverdichtungen und Erhöhung der Baudichte der Verringerung der Siedlungsdichte entgegenzuwirken.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-02-15: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Bei der Siedlungsdichte wird die Einwohnerzahl ins Verhältnis zur Siedlungs- und Verkehrsfläche gesetzt, im Gegensatz zur Bevölkerungsdichte, wo die Gesamtfläche die Bezugsgröße ist.

Zur Siedlungsfläche zählen dabei neben Wohnbauflächen auch Flächen besonderer funktionaler Prägung (z. B. Krankenhäuser oder Schulen), Industrie- und Gewerbeflächen, Flächen mit gemischter Nutzung (z. B. an Einkaufsstraßen) sowie Sport-, Freizeit- und Erholungsflächen. Sowohl Veränderungen der Einwohnerzahl, als auch Veränderungen bei der Ausdehnung der Siedlungs- und Verkehrsflächen haben Einfluss auf den Wert der Siedlungsdichte.

Die Siedlungsdichte unterscheidet sich zwischen ländlichem und nicht ländlichem Raum erheblich: Auf einem Quadratkilometer Siedlungs- und Verkehrsfläche leben in nicht ländlichen Kreistypen durchschnittlich 3 344 Menschen, in ländlichen rund 1 205 (Stand: 2018). In Städten werden dabei die Wohnbauflächen oft wesentlich dichter und auch mehrstöckiger bebaut als in ländlichen Regionen, wo eine lockerere Bebauung mit größeren, unversiegelten Flächenanteilen, wie zum Beispiel Hausgärten, vorherrscht.

Von 2000 bis 2009 nahm die Siedlungsdichte sowohl in ländlichen als auch in nicht ländlichen Regionen kontinuierlich ab. Dabei war in nicht ländlichen Regionen der absolute Rückgang etwas geringer als in den ländlichen Regionen. Bedingt durch die deutlich geringere Siedlungsdichte in den ländlichen Regionen fiel der Rückgang dort relativ betrachtet mit 11 % deutlich stärker aus als in den nicht ländlichen Regionen mit 4 %. In den nicht ländlichen Räumen ist die Siedlungsdichte seit dem Jahr 2011 wieder angestiegen. Somit werden die Siedlungs- und Verkehrsflächen in eher städtisch geprägten Räumen wieder effizienter genutzt als in den Jahren zuvor.

Werden die Entwicklungen der Einwohnerzahl und der Siedlungs- und Verkehrsfläche einzeln betrachtet, so zeigen sich deutliche Unterschiede zwischen ländlichen und nicht ländlichen Regionen. Zwischen 2000 und 2018 stieg die Siedlungs- und Verkehrsfläche sowohl in ländlichen als auch in nicht ländlichen Regionen an, allerdings mit 15 bzw. 8 % in unterschiedlichem Umfang. Nachdem die Bevölkerungszahl in den ländlichen Regionen Anfang des Jahrtausends noch leicht anstieg, verringerte sie sich danach bis 2010 um rund 2,3 %, um dann bis 2018 wieder um 1,8 % zu steigen. In den nicht ländlichen Regionen hingegen stieg die Einwohnerzahl sowohl zwischen 2000 und 2010 (um 1,7 %) als auch zwischen 2011 und 2018 (um 5,4 %) an. Die Auswirkungen der Inanspruchnahme zusätzlicher Siedlungs- und Verkehrsflächen wurden deshalb in ländlichen Regionen durch den Rückgang der Bevölkerungszahl verstärkt.

Datengrundlagen des Indikators sind die Bevölkerungszahlen und die Flächenerhebung nach Art der tatsächlichen Nutzung des Statistischen Bundesamtes. Bei den Bevölkerungsdaten ergab sich durch den Zensus 2011 ein Sprung in den Zeitreihen. Daneben kam es im amtlichen Liegenschaftskataster der Länder in den vergangenen Jahren teilweise zur Neuzuordnung von Flächennutzungen, denen keine realen Nutzungsänderungen zugrunde lagen. Zudem wurde im Jahr 2016 die Umstellung des alten auf den neuen Nutzungsartenkatalog vollendet, was sich auch auf die amtliche Flächenstatistik auswirkte, sodass die Vergleichbarkeit der Daten von 2016 mit den Vorjahren eingeschränkt ist. Um die Daten dennoch vergleichen zu können, wurden die jeweiligen Werte ausgehend vom Zensus 2011 und der Veränderung der Flächenerhebung im Jahr 2016 zurückgerechnet.

Die Unterscheidung zwischen „ländlich“ und „nicht ländlich“ basiert auf einer Typisierung des Thünen-Instituts. Das Institut ordnet Landkreisen und kreisfreien Städten – auf Basis von räumlichen Merkmalen wie „Siedlungsdichte“ und „Anteil land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Fläche“ – einen Grad an „Ländlichkeit“ zu. Somit bezieht sich diese Typisierung auf die Kreisebene und nicht auf kleinere räumliche Einheiten wie Städte und Dörfer.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

11.1.c Siedlungsdichte

Ziel

Keine Verringerung der Siedlungsdichte

Jahr

2015

2016

2017

2018

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Organisation

Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Datenquelle 2

 Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR)

Organisation

Bundesinstitut für Bau-, Stadt- und Raumforschung (BBSR)

Datenquelle 3

 Johann Heinrich von Thünen-Institut (TI)

Organisation

Johann Heinrich von Thünen-Institut (TI)