Indicator status summary

As means of providing at-a-glance information on the status of the sustainability indicators, every indicator is assigned, if calculable, one of four “weather symbols” in the report. This symbol is neither a political appraisal nor a forecast. Instead, the symbols provide a first impression of developments but do not replace a study of the explanatory texts, further analyses and background information. The manner in which the symbols are assigned to the individual indicators depends on the formulation of the respective target.

Indicators with absolute or relative target values

In most of the cases an indicator is supposed to reach a concrete absolute or relative target value by a target year (for example indicator 3.1.a). In the case of such a target formulation, first the average annual change over the last five years is calculated by means of the last six data points. This value is imputed for all years up to the target year. Building on this development, a hypothetical target value is calculated and compared to the predefined target value of the indicator. Based on the resulting difference between these two values, the indicators are assigned one of the following symbols:

Sonne   If the trend continues, the target value will be met or the difference between the target value and the current value will be less than 5 %.

Bedeckt   If the trend continues, the indicator will presumably miss its target by at least 5 % and at most 20 % of the difference between the target value and the current value.

Wolke   The indicator is moving in the right direction but if the trend continues, the target value will be missed by more than 20 % in the target year.

Blitz   The indicator is not moving in the right direction so that the gap to the target value is widening.

In exceptional cases where there are not enough data for the above mentioned calculation to be carried out, the last four consecutive points of time for which data are available will, as a minimum, be used to calculate the average change. In the case of less than four suitable annual values, there will be no calculation.

Indicators with target intervals

If the target is not an exact value but a specific interval (for example indicator 11.1.a), the weakest of the targets in the target interval will be used to determine the status. If several target values have been specified for one indicator that are to be reached in different years (for example indicator 4.2.b), the next target year will be used to determine the status.

Indicators with a constant target for each year

If a target value or a threshold is not to be reached at some time in the future but to be maintained in every single year (for example indicator 6.2), two pieces of information are combined for evaluation: primarily, the value last achieved and, subordinately, the average change over the last five years.

This procedure is used also when an indicator is supposed to reach a concrete target value by an exact target year and has reached the goal already. In such cases the standard procedure cannot provide reliable information on the direction in which the indicator is moving.

Indicators with directional targets without specific target values

In cases where only the targeted direction of the indicator trend is given but no concrete target value (for example indicator 1.1.a), two pieces of information are combined for evaluation: primarily, the average change over the last five years and, subordinately, the last annual change.

Indicators with several target values

If several targets are defined for one indicator that are to be reached at the same time (for example indicator 10.1), the development is evaluated individually for each target. The most negative evaluation determines the weather symbol to be assigned to the indicator.

Comparison of evaluations over time

The synoptic table provides information also about the evaluation of an indicator in previous years. It shows if the weather symbol assigned to an indicator was rather stable or volatile in the past years.

Status der Indikatoren

Um sich einen schnellen Überblick zum Status der einzelnen Indikatoren zu verschaffen, wird im Bericht bei jedem Indikator, sofern berechenbar, eines von vier möglichen Wettersymbolen abgebildet. Diese Kennzeichnung ist keine politische Bewertung und auch keine Prognose. Stattdessen bieten die Symbole eine erste Einschätzung der Entwicklung, ersetzen aber nicht die erläuternden Texte sowie weitere Analysen und Hintergrundinformationen. Die Art und Weise, wie die Symbole den einzelnen Indikatoren zugeordnet werden, hängt von der Formulierung des jeweiligen Ziels ab.

Indikatoren mit absoluten oder relativen Zielwerten

In den meisten Fällen soll ein Indikator einen konkreten absoluten oder relativen Zielwert in einem Zieljahr erreichen (zum Beispiel Indikator 3.1.a). Bei einer solchen Zielformulierung wird zunächst anhand der letzten sechs Datenpunkte der Durchschnitt der letzten fünf jährlichen Veränderungen ermittelt. Dieser Wert wird für die zukünftige jährliche Entwicklung bis zum Zieljahr unterstellt. Auf dieser Entwicklung aufbauend wird ein hypothetischer Zielwert ermittelt und mit dem vorgegebenen Zielwert des Indikators verglichen. Basierend auf der resultierenden Differenz der beiden Werte wird dem Indikator eines der folgenden Symbole zugewiesen:

Sonne   Bei Fortsetzung der Entwicklung würde der Zielwert erreicht oder um weniger als 5 % der Differenz zwischen Zielwert und aktuellem Wert verfehlt.

Leicht bewölkt   Bei Fortsetzung der Entwicklung würde das Ziel voraussichtlich um mindestens 5 %, aber maximal um 20 % der Differenz zwischen Zielwert und aktuellem Wert verfehlt.

Wolke   Der Indikator entwickelt sich zwar in die gewünschte Richtung auf das Ziel zu, bei Fortsetzung der Entwicklung würde das Ziel im Zieljahr aber um mehr als 20 % verfehlt.

Blitz   Der Indikator entwickelt sich nicht in die gewünschte Richtung und somit vergrößert sich der Abstand zum Ziel.

In Ausnahmefällen, wenn für die oben genannte Berechnung nicht genügend Daten vorliegen, werden mindestens die letzten vier zusammenhängenden Zeitpunkte, zu denen Daten existieren, für die Berechnung der durchschnittlichen Veränderung herangezogen. Stehen weniger als vier verwendbare Jahreswerte zur Verfügung, wird von einer Berechnung abgesehen.

Indikatoren mit Zielintervallen

Falls kein exakter Zielwert, sondern ein Zielintervall vorgegeben ist (zum Beispiel Indikator 11.1.a), so wird zur Bestimmung des Status die schwächste Zielforderung angenommen, die sich aus dem Zielintervall ergibt. Falls für einen Indikator mehrere Zielwerte vorgegeben sind, die in unterschiedlichen Jahren erreicht werden sollen (zum Beispiel Indikator 4.2.b), so wird für die Bestimmung des Status jeweils das zeitlich nächste Zieljahr verwendet.

Indikatoren mit gleichbleibender Zielvorgabe in jedem Jahr

Soll ein Ziel- oder Grenzwert nicht zukünftig erreicht, sondern jedes Jahr eingehalten werden (zum Beispiel Indikator 6.2), so werden für die Bewertung zwei Informationen kombiniert, und zwar vorrangig der zuletzt erreichte Wert sowie untergeordnet der Durchschnitt der letzten fünf Veränderungen:

Dieses Verfahren wird auch dann angewandt, wenn ein Indikator zwar einen konkreten Zielwert für ein genaues Zieljahr erreichen soll, diesen aber bereits vorher erreicht hat, da für diese Fälle das Standardverfahren keine richtungssicheren Aussagen treffen kann.

Indikatoren mit Zielrichtungsvorgabe ohne konkreten Zielwert

Wenn für einen Indikator nur eine Richtung vorgegeben ist, in die er sich entwickeln soll, aber kein konkreter Zielwert (zum Beispiel Indikator 1.1.a), dann werden für die Bewertung zwei Informationen kombiniert, und zwar vorrangig der Durchschnitt der letzten fünf Veränderungen und untergeordnet die letzte jährliche Veränderung:

Indikatoren mit mehreren Zielwerten

Falls für einen einzelnen Indikator mehrere Ziele vorgegeben sind, die zugleich erfüllt werden sollen (zum Beispiel Indikator 10.1), so wird die Entwicklung für jedes der Ziele bewertet. Das Wettersymbol für den Indikator folgt dann der negativsten Einzelbewertung.

Bewertungen im Zeitvergleich

In der Übersichtstabelle sind jeweils auch die Bewertungen eines Indikators nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre angegeben. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war.