Agenda and national statistical offices

United Nations Sustainable Development Goals

Fig. 1: Logo of the SDGs
Fig. 1: Logo of the SDGs

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development is a global United Nations action plan for the planet, people and their prosperity adopted by the UN General Assembly in September 2015. The 2030 Agenda, developed by the Member States of the United Nations, is a roadmap for “Transforming our world for the better“, aimed at achieiving a sustainable transformation in social, economic and environmental terms by 2030. It comprises 17 global goals that are subdivided into 169 targets with over 240 indicators. The goals are called Sustainable Development Goals and are abbreviated as SDGs (Fig. 1).

Monitoring goal achievement

The United Nations Statistical Commission was mandated to develop global indicators for the targets together with the national statistical offices. The Inter-Agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators (IAEG-SDGs) established for this purpose presented a set of indicators and has continuously refined it. The IAEG-SDGs is composed of statistical offices of some Member States of the United Nations, including the Federal Statistical Office representing Germany.

National reporting on sustainable development in Germany

The Federal Statistical Office is responsible for coordinating and publishing national SGD indicator data for Germany and for statistical reporting on Germany’s progress in this field.

Abbildung 2: Datenfluss Diagramm

Fig. 2: Data flow for calculating the SDG-indicators regarding Germany

In July 2019, the Federal Statistical Office launched this online platform on the indicators of the UN global Sustainable Development Goals. Here time series and associated metadata regarding global sustainable development are provided in a processed and interactive form for Germany. The SDGs section of the online platform enables the competent international organisations (custodian agencies) to directly download Germany’s SDG indicator data and use them, for example, for global reporting assignments.

In February 2020 the DNS-part of the platform was released. It includes data and metadata regarding the indicators of the German Sustainable Development Strategy (Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, DNS).

Agenda 2030 und die Arbeit der nationalen Statistikämter

Die Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen

Abbildung 1: Logo der SDGs
Abb. 1: Ein Logo der SDGs

Die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ein globaler Aktionsplan der Vereinten Nationen für die Menschen, den Planeten und den Wohlstand, der von der Generalversammlung der Vereinten Nationen im September 2015 verabschiedet worden ist. Mit der Agenda 2030 haben die Mitgliedstaaten der Vereinten Nationen einen Fahrplan zur „Transformation der Welt zum Besseren“ im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Umgestaltung von Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt bis zum Jahr 2030 entwickelt. Bestandteil der Agenda 2030 sind 17 globale Ziele unterteilt in 169 Unterziele und über 240 Indikatoren. Die Ziele heißen im Englischen Sustainable Development Goals und werden mit SDGs abgekürzt (Abb. 1).

Überprüfung der Zielerreichung

Die Statistische Kommission der Vereinten Nationen wurde beauftragt, gemeinsam mit den nationalen Statistischen Ämtern globale Indikatoren für die Unterziele zu entwickeln. Die dafür eingesetzte „Inter-agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators“ (IAEG-SDGs) hat ein Indikatorenset vorgelegt und kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Die IAEG-SDGs setzt sich aus statistischen Ämtern einiger UN-Mitgliedstaaten zusammen, darunter das Statistische Bundesamt für Deutschland.

Nationale Berichterstattung zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Deutschland

Das Statistische Bundesamt ist verantwortlich für die Koordination und Veröffentlichung nationaler Daten für Deutschland zu den SDG-Indikatoren und für die statistische Berichterstattung zu den Fortschritten Deutschlands auf diesem Gebiet.

Abbildung 2: Datenfluss Diagramm

Abb. 2: Datenfluss zum Berechnen der SDG-Indikatoren für Deutschland

Im Juli 2019 hat das Statistische Bundesamt die Online Plattform zu den Indikatoren der globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der Vereinten Nationen freigeschaltet. Hier finden sich Zeitreihen und zugehörige Metadaten für Deutschland zur globalen nachhaltigen Entwicklung in aufbereiteter und interaktiver Form. Der Bereich zu den SDGs auf der Online Plattform ermöglicht es den zuständigen internationalen Organisationen (Custodian Agencies) die Daten für einzelne SDG-Indikatoren für Deutschland direkt herunterzuladen und zum Beispiel für die globale Berichterstattung zu nutzen (Abb. 2).

Seit Anfang 2020 gibt es die Online Plattform auch für die Indikatoren der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie (DNS).