Agenda 2030 and the tasks of the national statistical offices

The UN Sustainable Development Goals

Figure 1: One logo of the SDGs
Figure. 1: One logo of the SDGs

The Agenda 2030 for Sustainable Development is a global United Nations action plan for people, the planet and prosperity, which has been adopted by the UN General Assembly in September 2015. The Agenda 2030 of the United Nations is a roadmap to “transform the world for the better” by the year 2030 in terms of sustainable transformation of society, economy and environment. The Agenda 2030 contains 17 global goals divided into 169 targets with over 240 indicators.The goals are called Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs (Figure 1).

Reviewing the goal achievement

The UN Statistical Commission was charged together with the national statistical offices to develop global indicators for the targets. The mandated “Inter-agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators” (IAEG-SDGs) presented and continuously developed a set of indicators for this purpose. This IAEG-SDGs consists of statistical offices of some UN member states, including the Federal Statistical Office for Germany.


National Reporting about sustainable development

The Federal Statistical Office coordinates and publishes the German data to the SDG indicators. It is responsible for the statistical reporting about the German progress concerning the SDGs. In July 2019 the Federal Statistical Office has released a national reporting platform for indicators of the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). On this platform, statistical data and metadata regarding Germany and the global sustainable development are presented in an edited and interactive way. Now the SDG-part of the platform enables the responsible international organisations (so-called Custodian Agencies) to directly download data for single SDG-indicators (Figure 2).

In February 2020 the DNS-part of the platform was released. It includes data and metadata regarding the indicators of the German Sustainable Development Strategy (Deutsche Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie, DNS).

Abbildung 2: Datenfluss Diagramm

Figure 2: Data flow for calculating the SDG-indicators regarding Germany

Agenda 2030 und die Arbeit der nationalen Statistikämter

Die UN-Nachhaltigkeitsziele

Abbildung 1: Logo der SDGs
Abb. 1: Ein Logo der SDGs

Die Agenda 2030 für nachhaltige Entwicklung ist ein globaler Aktionsplan der Vereinten Nationen für die Menschen, den Planeten und den Wohlstand, der von der UN-Generalversammlung im September 2015 verabschiedet worden ist. Mit der Agenda 2030 haben die Mitgliedstaaten der Vereinten Nationen einen Fahrplan zur „Transformation der Welt zum Besseren“ im Sinne einer nachhaltigen Umgestaltung von Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Umwelt bis zum Jahr 2030 entwickelt. Bestandteil der Agenda 2030 sind 17 globale Ziele unterteilt in 169 Unterziele und über 240 Indikatoren. Die Ziele heißen im Englischen Sustainable Development Goals und werden mit SDGs abgekürzt (Abb. 1).

Überprüfung der Zielerreichung

Die Statistische Kommission der Vereinten Nationen wurde beauftragt, gemeinsam mit den nationalen Statistischen Ämtern globale Indikatoren für die Unterziele zu entwickeln. Die dafür eingesetzte „Inter-agency and Expert Group on SDG Indicators“ (IAEG-SDGs) hat ein Indikatorenset vorgelegt und kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt. Die IAEG-SDGs setzt sich aus statistischen Ämtern einiger UN-Mitgliedstaaten zusammen, darunter das Statistische Bundesamt für Deutschland.

Nationale Berichterstattung zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung in Deutschland

Das Statistische Bundesamt ist verantwortlich für die Koordination und Veröffentlichung deutscher Daten für die SDG-Indikatoren und für die statistische Berichterstattung zu den Fortschritten Deutschlands auf diesem Gebiet.

Abbildung 2: Datenfluss Diagramm

Abb. 2: Datenfluss zum Berechnen der Indikatoren der SDGs in Bezug auf Deutschland

Im Juli 2019 hat das Statistische Bundesamt Bundesamt den Bereich der Berichtsplattform zu den Indikatoren der globalen Nachhaltigkeitsziele der UN freigeschaltet. In diesem stehen statistische Daten und Metadaten für Deutschland zur globalen nachhaltigen Entwicklung in aufbereiteter und interaktiver Form zur Verfügung. Die SDG-Seite dieser Berichtsplattform ermöglicht es den zuständigen internationalen Organisationen (Custodian Agencies) die Daten für einzelne SDG-Indikatoren direkt herunterzuladen und zum Beispiel für die globale Berichterstattung zu nutzen (Abb. 2). Seit Anfang 2020 gibt es die Berichtsplattform auch für die Indikatoren der Deutschen Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie (DNS).