Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Innovation – Shaping the future sustainably with new solutions

Indicator 9.1.a: Private and public expenditure on research and development

SDG-9.5.1
(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2018 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

This indicator shows expenditure on research and development by the private sector, the state and institutions of higher education in relation to gross domestic product.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Expenditure on research and development (R&D) is a crucial parameter, albeit not the sole determining factor, in setting the pace of innovation of an economy. The higher the spending, the greater the likelihood of more dynamic gains in productivity, stronger economic growth and improved competitiveness. The German Government will leave no stone unturned in pursuit of its policy objective to raise private and public R&D spending – an important determinant of the pace of an economy’s innovation – to at least 3.5% of GDP annually by 2025.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-06-30: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Research and development are scientific activities and are defined as creative and systematic work with the goal of expanding knowledge – including knowledge of humankind, culture and society – as well as developing new applications on the basis of existing knowledge. The main criterion that differentiates R&D from related activities is the existence of an appreciable element of novelty or advancement from a previous position.

The Federal Statistical Office annually calculates how much has been spent on research and development as a proportion of gross domestic product. Overall spending on research and development comprises expenditure by the public sector (including private non-profit research institutions), businesses and institutions of higher education. The data-gathering and calculations adhere to the recommended methodologies of the OECD Frascati Manual on statistics about research and development, which enables international comparisons.

Overall R&D expenditure in Germany in 2018 amounted to EUR 104.7 billion, equivalent to 3.1% of GDP. It was thus 0.4 percentage points below the target set for 2025 of at least 3.5% of GDP annually. The intended target has not been reached.

Since 2000, spending on research and development in Germany has risen by about 0.7 percentage points as a proportion of GDP. The indicator has shown the strongest growth since 2007. While the figure increased by an average of 0.01 percentage points per annum between 2000 and 2007, it grew by an annual 0.06 percentage points on average from 2007 until 2018.

As an international comparison, Germany is ahead of the United States with its 2.8% and the EU-28 region with its 2.0%. On the other hand, several countries are ahead of Germany, including Sweden and Japan (both at 3.3%).

In 2018, the private sector accounted for by far the largest share of R&D expenditure in Germany at 68.9%, with 17.6% spent by institutions of higher education and a further 13.5% by public and private non-profit research institutions. Staff employed in R&D comprised around 708,000 full-time equivalents, a figure that includes only the share of their working hours actually spent on R&D work. Some 63.7% of these employees work in the private sector, 20.8% in institutions of higher education and 15.5% in public or private non-profit research institutions.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

9.1.a Private and public expenditure on research and development

Target

At least 3.5% of GDP per year by 2025

Year

2015

2016

2017

2018

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 2

 Volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnungen der Länder

Organisation

Volkswirtschaftliche Gesamtrechnungen der Länder

Source 3

 Stifteverband Wissenschaftsstatistik

Organisation

Stifteverband Wissenschaftsstatistik

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Innovation – Zukunft mit neuen Lösungen nachhaltig gestalten

Indikator 9.1.a: Private und öffentliche Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung

SDG-9.5.1
(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2018 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator zeigt die Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung von Wirtschaft, Staat und Hochschulen in Relation zum Bruttoinlandsprodukt.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung (FuE) sind eine wichtige, wenn auch nicht die alleinige Bestimmungsgröße für das Innovationstempo einer Volkswirtschaft. Je höher die Ausgaben sind, desto größer ist die Wahrscheinlichkeit für eine dynamischere Entwicklung der Produktivität, ein stärkeres Wirtschaftswachstum und eine verbesserte Wettbewerbsfähigkeit. Die Bundesregierung wird alle Möglichkeiten ausschöpfen, um das politische Ziel zu erreichen, die privaten und öffentlichen Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung – eine wichtige Bestimmungsgröße für das Innovationstempo einer Volkswirtschaft – bis 2025 auf mindestens 3,5 %1 des Bruttoinlandsprodukts jährlich zu erhöhen.

1Anpassung des Zieljahres und -wertes von jährlich 3,0 % bis 2030 auf 3,5 % bis 2025 gemäß Koalitionsvertrag 2017.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-03-08: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-03-09: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Forschung und Entwicklung sind wissenschaftliche Tätigkeiten und werden definiert als schöpferische und systematische Arbeiten zur Erweiterung des Wissensstands – einschließlich des Wissens über die Menschheit, die Kultur und die Gesellschaft – und zur Entwicklung neuer Anwendungen auf Basis des vorhandenen Wissens. Um Forschung und Entwicklung gegenüber verwandten Tätigkeiten abzugrenzen, wird als Hauptkriterium geprüft, ob ein nennenswertes Element von Neuheit oder Weiterentwicklung vorhanden ist.

Der Anteil der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsausgaben am Bruttoinlandsprodukt wird jährlich vom Statistischen Bundesamt ermittelt. Die gesamten Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung setzen sich aus den Ausgaben der Sektoren Staat (einschließlich private Forschungseinrichtungen ohne Erwerbszweck), Hochschulen und Wirtschaft zusammen. Die Erhebungen und Berechnungen folgen den methodischen Empfehlungen des Frascati-Handbuchs der OECD zu Statistiken über Forschung und Entwicklung, wodurch die räumliche Vergleichbarkeit auch international sichergestellt ist.

Im Jahr 2018 lagen die gesamten FuE-Ausgaben in Deutschland bei 104,7 Milliarden Euro. Dies entsprach einem Anteil von 3,1 % am Bruttoinlandsprodukt. Damit lag der Wert 0,4 Prozentpunkte unterhalb des bis 2025 gesetzten Zielwertes von jährlich mindestens 3,5 % des BIP. Das anvisierte Ziel wurde damit nicht erreicht.

Seit dem Jahr 2000 ist der Anteil der FuE-Ausgaben am Bruttoinlandsprodukt in Deutschland um 0,7 Prozentpunkte gestiegen. Dabei ist eine stärkere Entwicklung des Indikators seit dem Jahr 2007 zu beobachten. Während der Anteil zwischen dem Jahr 2000 und 2007 um durchschnittlich 0,01 Prozentpunkte pro Jahr anstieg, wuchs dieser in dem Zeitraum 2007 bis 2018 um durchschnittlich 0,06 Prozentpunkte pro Jahr.

Im internationalen Vergleich liegt Deutschland vor den USA mit 2,8 % und der EU-28-Region mit 2,0 %. Einige Staaten wie zum Beispiel Schweden (3,3 %) oder Japan (3,3 %) liegen hingegen vor Deutschland.

Im Jahr 2018 entfiel der weitaus größte Teil der FuE-Ausgaben in Deutschland mit 68,9 % auf die Wirtschaft, 17,6 % stammte von den Hochschulen, weitere 13,5 % von staatlichen und privaten Forschungseinrichtungen ohne Erwerbszweck. Das Personal in Forschung und Entwicklung umfasste dabei rund 708 000 Vollzeitäquivalente, wobei jeweils nur der im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung geleistete Anteil der Arbeitszeit berücksichtigt wird. Das Personal ist zu 63,7 % der Wirtschaft, zu 20,8 % den Hochschulen und zu 15,5 % den staatlichen und privaten Forschungseinrichtungen ohne Erwerbszweck zuzurechnen.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

9.1.a Private und öffentliche Ausgaben für Forschung und Entwicklung

Ziel

Jährlich mindestens 3,5 % des BIP bis 2025

Jahr

2015

2016

2017

2018

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 2

 Stifterverband Wissenschaftsstatistik Essen

Organisation

Stifterverband Wissenschaftsstatistik Essen

Datenquelle Zahlenwerk 2019 in neuem Fenster öffnen