Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Renewable energies – Strengthening a sustainable energy supply

Indicator 7.2.a: Share of renewable energies in gross final energy consumption

SDG-7.2.1
(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator shows the energy generated from renewable sources as a percentage of gross final energy consumption. Gross final energy consumption encompasses the energy used by final consumers, transmission losses and the energy generation sectors’ own energy consumption.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Reserves of fossil fuels such as oil and gas are limited. Their use, moreover, entails the emission of greenhouse gases. Switching to renewables, natural energy sources that constantly regenerate, serves to reduce energy-related emissions and hence the extent of climate change. In addition, it reduces dependence on energy imports and consumption of resources and promotes technological innovation. For this reason, the target of the German Government is to increase the share of renewable energy in gross final energy consumption to 18% by 2020, to 30% by 2030, to 45% by 2040 and to 60% by 2050.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-06-30: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

For this indicator, the electricity generated from renewable sources, which include hydro power, onshore and offshore wind power and solar power, the heat generated from sources such as geothermal energy, biomass and biogenic waste and the consumption of regenerative motor fuels are presented as a percentage of the energy generated from all sources that is consumed in Germany. Besides renewables, these sources also include imported electricity and fossil fuels such as coal and lignite, oil and gas.

The indicator is calculated by AGEE-Stat, the Working Group on Renewable Energy Statistics. In contrast to the reporting under the Renewable Energy Directive of the European Union (Directive 2009/28/EC), uses an average value for hydro and wind power over several years to smoothen the effects of varying supply, this indicator takes account of the volumes of electricity actually generated from wind and hydro power (German Government Energy Concept).

With regard to the method used to calculate the indicator, it should be noted that imports and exports of electricity are not included in full in the consumption of energy from renewable sources, whereas they are factored into gross final energy consumption. Accordingly, the indicator may overstate or understate the ratio of energy from renewable sources to gross final energy consumption, depending on the balance of trade. If there were an export surplus for electricity – as has been the case since 2001 – the actual percentage of renewables in the energy mix would be lower than the level represented by the indicator.

Between 2005 and 2019, the share of renewable energy in gross final energy consumption rose from 7.1% to 17.7%. If the trend continues at the average pace seen in the past few years, the goal for 2020 will be achieved.

The use of renewables varies widely between sectors. In 2019, the share accounted for 42.0% of gross electricity generation, 15.0% of final energy consumption for heating and cooling and 5.6% in the transport sector. Among renewable energies, biomass, with a share of 58.8% and wind power, which accounts for 24.1%, play the greatest part in primary energy consumption.

The indicator has dependencies with indicator 13.1.a (Greenhouse gas emissions), as well as with indicators 3.2.a (Emissions of air pollutants) and 7.2.b (Share of electricity from renewable energies in gross electricity consumption).

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

7.2.a Share of renewable energies in gross final energy consumption

Target

Increase to 18% by 2020 and to 30% by 2030, to 45% by 2040 and to 60% by 2050

Year

2016

2017

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Working Group on Renewable Energy Statistics

Organisation

Working Group on Renewable Energy Statistics

Data source Development of renewable energies in Germany opens in a new window

Source 2

 Länderarbeitskreis Energiebilanzen

Organisation

Länderarbeitskreis Energiebilanzen

Data source Energy indicators: Renewable energy sources (only available in German) opens in a new window

Source 3

 Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Organisation

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Erneuerbare Energien – Zukunftsfähige Energieversorgung ausbauen

Indikator 7.2.a: Anteil erneuerbarer Energien am Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch

SDG-7.2.1
(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator setzt die Erzeugung erneuerbarer Energien in Relation zum Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch. Der Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch umfasst den Energieverbrauch beim Letztverbraucher, die Übertragungsverluste sowie den Eigenverbrauch der Energiegewinnungsbereiche.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die Reserven fossiler Energieträger wie Öl und Gas sind begrenzt. Darüber hinaus ist ihre Nutzung mit der Emission von Treibhausgasen verbunden. Ein Umstieg auf erneuerbare Energien, die sich als natürliche Energiequellen ständig regenerieren, verringert die energetisch bedingten Emissionen und folglich das Ausmaß des Klimawandels. Zusätzlich werden die Abhängigkeit von Energieimporten und der Ressourcenverbrauch gemindert sowie technische Innovationen gefördert. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es daher, den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien am Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch bis zum Jahr 2020 auf 18 %, bis 2030 auf 30 %, bis 2040 auf 45 % und bis 2050 auf 60 % zu erhöhen.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-02-19: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-03-09: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Bei diesem Indikator werden der aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen erzeugte Strom (u. a. aus Wasserkraft, Windkraft auf Land und auf See, Solarenergie) und die Wärme (u. a. aus Geothermie, Biomasse oder biogenen Abfällen) und regenerative Kraftstoffe zu allen in Deutschland verbrauchten Energieträgern in Beziehung gesetzt. Dazu zählen neben den erneuerbaren Energien auch importierter Strom und fossile Energieträger wie Braun- und Steinkohle, Öl und Gas.

Der Indikator wird von der Arbeitsgruppe Erneuerbare Energien-Statistik (AGEE-Stat) berechnet. Im Unterschied zur Berichterstattung gemäß der Erneuerbare-Energien-Richtlinie (Richtlinie 2009/28/EG) der Europäischen Union, die aufgrund des jährlich unterschiedlichen Dargebots bei Wasser- und Windkraft einen Durchschnittswert über mehrere Jahre vorsieht, werden für diesen Indikator die tatsächlich erzeugten Strommengen (Wind- und Wasserkraft) berücksichtigt (Energiekonzept der Bundesregierung).

Bei der Berechnungsmethodik des Indikators ist zu beachten, dass Im- und Exporte von Strom nicht vollumfänglich im Energieverbrauch erneuerbarer Energiequellen berücksichtigt sind, wohingegen diese beim Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch mit eingerechnet werden. Daher kann der Indikator den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien am Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch je nach Außenhandelssaldo über- oder unterschätzen. Bei einem positiven Netto-Exportsaldo von Strom – wie es seit 2001 der Fall ist – läge demnach der tatsächliche Anteil erneuerbarer Energien unter dem durch den Indikator dargestellten Niveau.

Zwischen 2005 und 2019 stieg der Anteil erneuerbarer Energien am Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch von 7,1 % auf 17,7 %. Bei einer durchschnittlichen Weiterentwicklung wie in den vergangenen Jahren würde das Ziel für 2020 erreicht.

Der Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien variiert je nach Bereich stark. Ihr Anteil an der Bruttostromerzeugung betrug im Jahr 2019 42,0 %, am Endenergieverbrauch für Wärme und Kälte 15,0 % und im Verkehr 5,6 %. Dabei spielten Biomasse mit einem Anteil von 58,8 % sowie Windkraft mit einem Anteil von 24,1 % am Primärenergieverbrauch aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen die größte Rolle unter den eingesetzten Energieträgern.

Der Indikator weist Querbezüge zu den Indikatoren 13.1.a „Treibhausgasemissionen“, 3.2.a „Emissionen von Luftschadstoffen“ und 7.2.b „Anteil des Stroms aus erneuerbaren Energiequellen am Bruttostromverbrauch“ auf.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

7.2.a Anteil erneuerbarer Energien am Brutto-Endenergieverbrauch

Ziel

Anstieg auf 18 % bis 2020, auf 30 % bis 2030, auf 45 % bis 2040 und auf 60 % bis 2050

Jahr

2016

2017

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Arbeitsgruppe Erneuerbare Energien-Statistik, Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)

Organisation

Arbeitsgruppe Erneuerbare Energien-Statistik, Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi)

Datenquelle Entwicklung der erneuerbaren Energien in Deutschland in neuem Fenster öffnen