Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Resource conservation – Using resources economically and efficiently

Indicator 7.1.a, b: Final energy productivity and primary energy consumption

SDG-7.3.1

a) Final energy productivity Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

b) Primary energy consumption Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The final energy productivity indicator shows the trend of value added for each unit of final energy used. “Final energy” refers to the part of the energy that is available as thermal or electrical energy for the manufacture of goods or for use by households.

The primary energy consumption indicator shows how much energy has been consumed in a country, on the one hand for transformation by the energy industries and on the other hand in industry, households and transport.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

After the promotion of renewable energies, the reduction of energy consumption through increased energy efficiency is the second pillar of the energy transition. The aim is to achieve a high level of economic output while using as little energy as possible. Energy saving protects the climate and the environment and helps to improve the security of supply and industrial competitiveness.

According to the German Government’s energy blueprint, final energy productivity is to be increased by 2.1% annually from 2008 to 2050. At the same time, primary energy consumption is to be reduced by 20% from its 2008 level by 2020, 30% by 2030 and 50% by 2050.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-09-09: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Final energy consumption and primary energy consumption are directly related to one another. Final energy consumption is primary energy consumption less total losses from transformation, flaring and distribution and the statistical difference.

Primary energy consumption is the sum of domestically extracted primary energy sources, use of stocks and all imported energy sources minus storage, energy exports and marine bunkers. The main basis for the calculation of energy consumption comprises the data on energy balances from the Energy Balance Association (AGEB), which are supplemented with data from other sources.

Final energy productivity means how much added value accrues from each unit of final energy used. It constitutes a measurement of energy efficiency in the production of goods and in household energy use. However, estimates of energy efficiency in the transformation process (plant efficiency) or in the transmission of energy (elimination of leakages, improved heat insulation, etc.) cannot be directly inferred from the indicator.

According to provisional findings, final energy productivity in the period from 2008 to 2019 increased by 15.4%, which equates to an average annual increase of about 1.4%. This means that the goal of an annual increase of 2.1% on average up to 2050 is not yet being achieved. In 2019, energy productivity showed a slight year-on-year decline of 0.6 percentage points.

Primary energy consumption registered a year-on-year decline in 2019. Provisional findings indicate that primary energy consumption fell by 11.1% in the period from 2008 to 2019. Accordingly, if the trend of past years were to remain unchanged, the target value for 2020 would not be achieved.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Time series 1

Indicator

7.1.a Final energy productivity

Target

Increase by 2.1% per year from 2008 to 2050

Year

2016

2017

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Time series 2

Indicator

7.1.b Primary energy consumption

Target

Reduction by 20% by 2020, by 30% by 2030, and by 50% by 2050, all compared to 2008

Year

2016

2017

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Statistical Office

Organisation

Federal Statistical Office

Source 2

 Länderarbeitskreis Energiebilanzen

Organisation

Länderarbeitskreis Energiebilanzen

Data source Energy indicators general (only available in German) opens in a new window

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Ressourcenschonung – Ressourcen sparsam und effizient nutzen

Indikator 7.1.a, b: Endenergieproduktivität und Primärenergieverbrauch

SDG-7.3.1

a) Endenergieproduktivität Weathersymbol

(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

b) Primärenergieverbrauch Weathersymbol

(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator „Endenergieproduktivität“ stellt die Entwicklung der Wertschöpfung je eingesetzter Einheit Endenergie dar. Der Begriff „Endenergie“ bezieht sich dabei auf den Teil der Energie, der energetisch als thermische oder elektrische Energie zur Herstellung von Gütern oder zur Nutzung in den privaten Haushalten zur Verfügung steht.

Der Indikator „Primärenergieverbrauch“ gibt an, wie viel Energie in einem Land einerseits in den Energiesektoren zur Umwandlung, sowie andererseits in der Produktion, den privaten Haushalten und im Verkehr verbraucht wurde.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die Senkung des Energieverbrauchs durch eine Steigerung der Energieeffizienz ist neben dem Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien die zweite tragende Säule der Energiewende. Ziel ist es mit möglichst wenig Energie, viel wirtschaftliche Leistung zu erreichen. Energieeinsparung schont Klima und Umwelt, trägt zur Verbesserung der Versorgungssicherheit und zur Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Industrie bei.

Dem Energiekonzept der Bundesregierung zufolge soll die Endenergieproduktivität in den Jahren 2008 bis 2050 jährlich um 2,1 % erhöht werden. Gleichzeitig soll sich der Primärenergieverbrauch bis 2020 um 20 %, bis 2030 um 30 % und bis 2050 um 50 % gegenüber dem Jahr 2008 verringern.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-07-01: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-06-30: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Endenergie- und Primärenergieverbrauch sind direkt miteinander verbunden. Der Endenergieverbrauch ergibt sich aus dem Primärenergieverbrauch abzüglich der Summe aus Umwandlungs-, Fackel- und Leitungsverlusten sowie der statistischen Differenz.

Der Primärenergieverbrauch ist die Summe aus den im Inland gewonnenen Primärenergieträgern, Vorratsentnahmen und sämtlichen importierten Energieträgern abzüglich der Bevorratung, Energieexporte und Hochseebunkerungen. Wesentliche Grundlage für die Berechnung des Energieverbrauchs sind die Daten der Energiebilanzen der Arbeitsgemeinschaft Energiebilanzen (AGEB), welche um Daten aus weiteren Quellen ergänzt werden.

Die Endenergieproduktivität gibt an, wie hoch die Wertschöpfung je eingesetzter Einheit Endenergie ist. Sie stellt ein Maß für die Energieeffizienz bei der Herstellung von Gütern und im Energieeinsatz der privaten Haushalte dar. Einschätzungen zur Energieeffizienz in den Umwandlungsbereichen (Wirkungsgrad der Kraftwerke) oder in der Energieübertragung und -speicherung (Beseitigung von Leckagen, bessere Wärmedämmung usw.) lassen sich anhand des Indikators jedoch nicht direkt ableiten.

Die Endenergieproduktivität hat sich nach vorläufigen Ergebnissen im Zeitraum 2008 bis 2019 um 15,4 % erhöht, was einem durchschnittlichen jährlichen Anstieg von rund 1,4 % entspricht. Somit wird das Ziel eines jährlichen Anstieges von durchschnittlich 2,1 % bis 2050 zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht erreicht. Gegenüber dem Vorjahr ist die Energieproduktivität im Jahr 2019 um 0,6 Prozentpunkte gesunken.

Der Primärenergieverbrauch ist im Jahr 2019 gegenüber dem Vorjahr gesunken. Im gesamten Zeitraum von 2008 bis 2019 wurde der Primärenergieverbrauch nach vorläufigen Ergebnissen um 11,1 % reduziert. Bei gleichbleibender Entwicklung wie in den vergangenen Jahren würde der Zielwert im Jahr 2020 somit nicht erreicht.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Zeitreihe 1

Indikator

7.1.a Endenergieproduktivität

Ziel

Steigerung um 2,1 % pro Jahr im Zeitraum von 2008 – 2050

Jahr

2016

2017

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Zeitreihe 2

Indikator

7.1.b Primärenergieverbrauch

Ziel

Senkung um 20 % bis 2020, um 30 % bis 2030 und um 50 % bis 2050 jeweils gegenüber 2008

Jahr

2016

2017

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Organisation

Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Datenquelle 2

 Länderarbeitskreis (LAK) Energiebilanzen

Organisation

Länderarbeitskreis (LAK) Energiebilanzen

Datenquelle Energieindikatoren allgemein in neuem Fenster öffnen