Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Equality – Strengthening the economic participation of women globally

Indicator 5.1.e: Vocational qualification of women and girls through German development cooperation

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator shows the number of women and girls in developing and emerging countries who were reached by vocational qualification measures through German development cooperation.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The economic participation of girls and women in developing and emerging countries is to be increased. To this end, the number of girls and women in developing and emerging countries who obtain vocational qualifications through German development cooperation is to be gradually increased by one third over the period from 2015 to 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-01-28: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-09: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Information provided by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) on supported projects that entered the implementation phase in 2015 served as a data source. The measures taken into account include all short-, medium- and long-term formal and non-formal vocational training measures in developing and emerging countries. The measures are financed entirely by funds from the federal budget and from market funds provided through the Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW). The data were collected for the first time in 2015 on behalf of the Ministry of Development by the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and Centrum für Evaluation GmbH, and are updated at three-annual intervals. This means that it is not yet possible to gauge the prospects of meeting the target on the basis of the methodology set out in the Indicator Report.

In 2018, some 863,000 women and girls were reached by skills development measures. This is 243% higher than 2015, the first year for which data were collected. Of these women and girls, 26.5% were reached directly through individual vocational training. A total of 31.6% of the women and girls were reached through institutional funding and 41.8% through measures in specific policy fields. Of all these women and girls, 93.0% were reached through financial cooperation.

Because women and girls in developing and emerging countries are reached by German development cooperation by three different levels, the data were searched for each of those levels. (1) In the case of individualised measures, the number of women and girls who received vocational training and continuing education or participated in individualised extension measures can be recorded directly. When it comes to (2) the funding of institutions and (3) the allocation of funds to specific policy fields, the number of beneficiaries reached in the supported training and further education facilities has to be estimated. In this case, the total number of female trainees and students in each of the funded education and training establishments as well as all women and girls receiving education or training in the relevant policy field are assumed to be beneficiaries of German development cooperation. As a result, there can be overestimates and duplication, especially in the figures for policy fields. Furthermore, in the case of follow-on projects or when two or more projects are implemented simultaneously in the same region, the possibility of double counting some of the beneficiary women and girls cannot be ruled out.

The value of the indicator depends heavily on the funding level, as funding through institutions or policy fields generally reaches more women and girls than individual measures. The indicator does not provide any information on the success, scope and quality of the qualification measures, which can vary considerably. The measures designed to promote the vocational skills of women and girls are part of overall official development assistance. The total amount of ODA is shown in indicator 17.1.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

5.1.e Vocational qualifications of women and girls through German development cooperation

Target

To be increased gradually by a third by 2030 compared to 2015 as the base year

Evaluation

Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Organisation

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Source 2

 Center for Evaluation

Organisation

Center for Evaluation

Source 3

 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Organisation

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Gleichstellung – Wirtschaftliche Teilhabe von Frauen global stärken

Indikator 5.1.e: Berufliche Qualifizierung von Frauen und Mädchen durch deutsche entwicklungspolitische Zusammenarbeit

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator gibt die Anzahl der Frauen und Mädchen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern an, die durch berufliche Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen deutscher entwicklungspolitischer Zusammenarbeit erreicht wurden.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die wirtschaftliche Teilhabe von Frauen und Mädchen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern soll gestärkt werden. Daher soll bis 2030 die Anzahl der durch deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit beruflich qualifizierten Frauen und Mädchen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern sukzessive um ein Drittel gegenüber dem Jahr 2015 erhöht werden.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-01-28: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-07-07: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Als Datenquelle wurden Informationen vom Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) zu geförderten Projekten verwendet, die sich im Jahr 2015 in der Durchführungsphase befanden. Zu diesen Maßnahmen zählen alle kurz-, mittel- und langfristigen formalen und non-formalen Berufsbildungsmaßnahmen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern. Die Maßnahmen werden vollständig durch Mittel des Bundeshaushaltes sowie durch Marktmittel der Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau finanziert. Die Datenerhebung erfolgte erstmalig im Jahr 2015 im Auftrag des BMZ durch die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit GmbH sowie das Centrum für Evaluation GmbH und wird im dreijährigen Rhythmus durchgeführt. Insofern kann eine mögliche Zielerreichung des Indikators gemäß der im Indikatorenbericht zugrunde gelegten Methodik noch nicht beurteilt werden.

Im Jahr 2018 wurden rund 863 000 Frauen und Mädchen durch berufliche Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen erreicht. Dies ist gegenüber 2015 – dem ersten Jahr der Erhebung – ein Anstieg um 243 %. Davon konnten 26,5 % über direkte Berufsbildungsmaßnahmen erreicht werden. Durch Institutionenförderung wurden 31,6 % der Frauen und Mädchen erreicht und durch Maßnahmen auf Politikfeldebene 41,8 %. Durch die finanzielle Zusammenarbeit wurden insgesamt 93,0 % der Frauen und Mädchen erreicht.

Frauen und Mädchen in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern werden auf unterschiedlichen Ebenen von deutscher entwicklungspolitischer Zusammenarbeit erreicht, weswegen die Daten auf drei Ebenen abgefragt wurden. (1) Bei Maßnahmen auf Individualebene kann die Anzahl der Frauen und Mädchen, die beruflich aus- und weitergebildet wurden oder an entsprechend ausgerichteten Beratungsmaßnahmen teilgenommen haben, direkt erfasst werden. Bei (2) Förderung von Institutionen oder (3) Förderung auf Politikfeldebene muss die erreichte Anzahl in den geförderten Aus- und Weiterbildungseinrichtungen geschätzt werden. Dabei werden auf Institutionenebene die Gesamtzahl der weiblichen Aus- und Weiterzubildenden in den jeweils geförderten Aus- und Weiterbildungseinrichtungen und auf Politikfeldebene alle weiblichen Aus- und Weiterzubildenden in den Partnerländern als erreichte Frauen und Mädchen angenommen. Folglich kann es zu Überschätzungen und zu Mehrfachzählungen kommen – insbesondere auf Politikfeldebene. Ferner kann nicht ausgeschlossen werden, dass es bei Nachfolgeprojekten oder bei mehreren zeitgleich durchgeführten Projekten in derselben Region zu Mehrfachzählungen der erreichten Frauen und Mädchen kommt.

Der Wert des Indikators hängt stark von der geförderten Ebene ab, da durch die Förderung von Institutionen oder Politikfeldern in der Regel mehr Frauen und Mädchen erreicht werden als bei individuellen Maßnahmen. Der Indikator trifft keine Aussage zu Erfolg, Umfang und Qualität der Qualifizierungsmaßnahmen, die recht unterschiedlich sein können. Die Maßnahmen zur Förderung der beruflichen Qualifizierung von Frauen und Mädchen sind Teil der gesamten öffentlichen Entwicklungsausgaben. Diese sind im Indikator 17.1 dargestellt.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

5.1.e Berufliche Qualifizierung von Frauen und Mädchen durch deutsche entwicklungspolitische Zusammenarbeit

Ziel

Sukzessive Steigerung bis 2030 um ein Drittel verglichen mit Basisjahr 2015

Bewertung

Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Datenquelle 2

 Centrum für Evaluation GmbH

Organisation

Centrum für Evaluation GmbH

Datenquelle 3

 Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)

Organisation

Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ)