Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Global health – Strengthening the global health architecture

Indicator 3.3: Germany’s contribution to global pandemic prevention and response

(Evaluation of the year 2020 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator covers expenditure and pledges made by Germany for global pandemic prevention and response programmes. It excludes programmes designed to contain the COVID-19 pandemic. To make the indicator more informative, its impact will be assessed by the time of the next edition of the German National Sustainability Strategy with a view to developing it into an output indicator.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The COVID-19 pandemic has shown what far-reaching effects cross-border health hazards have on people and economies throughout the world. Accordingly, supporting pandemic prevention and response programmes is a major contribution to global health, particularly in countries of the Global South. The aim is therefore to increase Germany’s contribution to global pandemic prevention and response substantially from its 2019 level in the period up to 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-03-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The data for the indicator come from special analyses of the relevant budget headings and commitment appropriations from the Federal Foreign Office, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, the Federal Ministry of Health and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development. Programmes are taken into account in the analyses if, by dint of their objectives, they fall directly under the heading of pandemic prevention and response or if they are primarily intended to enhance relevant capabilities in the field of health care. The programmes cover matters such as the pandemic prevention and response functions of the World Health Organization (WHO), sanitation, One Health (a holistic approach that recognises the interconnection between human, animal and environmental health), vaccination infrastructure and research and development, both at home and abroad, in so far as the R&D findings and innovations also benefit the countries of the Global South. Additionally, programmes launched in response to the COVID-19 pandemic have also been taken into account. The latter include WHO programmes and activities, humanitarian aid, vaccine development, crisis response and emergency assistance and loans to help health services in countries of the Global South to respond to the crisis. By definition, expenditure and pledges made in response to the COVID-19 pandemic are excluded from the indicator and shown separately.

As regards the figures, it should be noted that it is not possible to draw hard and fast lines between the content of programmes, since the indicator field is closely interlinked with numerous other areas of the health system. The indicator therefore takes account of a range of programmes, such as Germany’s contribution to the WHO to support its emergency programme and to provide flexible initial funding for crisis response measures through the Contingency Fund for Emergencies, support for a vaccination programme for the reduction of child mortality in the East African Community, improvement of drinking water supply and sanitation in Burkina Faso and a biosecurity cooperation programme. Besides the thematic prioritisation, it should also be noted that some of the programmes are focused on general reinforcement of global coordination and organisational capacity and therefore do not exclusively benefit countries of the Global South.

Nor can a precise line be drawn between preventive and reactive measures. Developing preventive capacity may, for example, enhance responsiveness to a pandemic situation, while reactive measures may contribute to capacity-building in the long term. To avoid a statistical outlier resulting from the response to the COVID-19 pandemic, these expenditure items and pledges are not part of the indicators but are shown separately in the chart.

The amounts of expenditure and pledges that are displayed, moreover, say nothing about the success of the programmes. The indicator represents Germany’s monetary contribution to pandemic prevention and response. A more extensive assessment would be needed to gauge the impact of that contribution. In view of the foregoing provisos, therefore, the recorded figures are not by any means a full reflection of the German expenditure and pledges that directly or indirectly influence the pandemic prevention and response effort.

Between the years 2015 and 2020, expenditure and pledges for pandemic prevention and response rose from EUR 137.9 million to EUR 353.1 million (provisional figure). This represents an average annual increase of EUR 43.1 million over those last five years. If this trend continued, the objective of increasing Germany’s contribution substantially from 2019 to 2030 would be achieved. The chart also clearly shows the upsurge of EUR 635.2 million in expenditure and pledges in 2020 to contain the COVID-19 pandemic.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

3.3 Germany’s contribution to global pandemic prevention and response

Target

Expenditure to be increased by 2030

Year

2020

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Ministry of Health

Organisation

Federal Ministry of Health

Source 2

 Federal Foreign Office

Organisation

Federal Foreign Office

Source 3

 Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Organisation

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Source 4

 Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Organisation

Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Globale Gesundheit – Globale Gesundheitsarchitektur stärken

Indikator 3.3: Beitrag Deutschlands zur globalen Pandemieprävention und -reaktion

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2020 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator umfasst Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen Deutschlands für Programme zur globalen Pandemieprävention und -reaktion. Ausgenommen sind hierbei Programme zur Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie. Um die Aussagekraft des Indikators zu verbessern, wird er bis zur nächsten Neuauflage der DNS im Hinblick auf seine Wirkung evaluiert, mit dem Ziel, ihn zu einem Output-Indikator fortzuentwickeln.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die COVID-19-Pandemie hat gezeigt, welche weitreichenden Auswirkungen grenzüberschreitende Gesundheitsgefahren für Menschen und Wirtschaft weltweit haben. Dementsprechend bedeutet die Unterstützung von Programmen zur Pandemieprävention und -reaktion einen wichtigen Beitrag zur globalen Gesundheit – insbesondere in Ländern des Globalen Südens. Ziel ist es daher, Deutschlands Beitrag für die globale Pandemieprävention und -reaktion bis 2030 substanziell gegenüber dem Jahr 2019 zu steigern.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-03-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-03-09: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Die Daten des Indikators stammen aus Sonderauswertungen der entsprechenden Haushaltstitel bzw. der Verpflichtungsermächtigungen des Auswärtigen Amtes, des Bundesministeriums für Bildung und Forschung, des Bundesministeriums für Gesundheit und des Bundesministeriums für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung. In den Auswertungen wurden Programme berücksichtigt, wenn diese in der Zielsetzung direkt zum Bereich Pandemieprävention und -reaktion zuzurechnen sind oder diese primär auf die Verbesserung relevanter Kapazitäten in der Gesundheitsversorgung abzielen. Die Programme umfassen dabei u. a. die Bereiche Pandemieprävention und -reaktion der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO), Sanitärwesen, One Health (ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz, der die Verbindung der Gesundheit von Mensch, Tier und Umwelt anerkennt), Impfinfrastruktur sowie Forschung und Entwicklung sowohl im Ausland als auch im Inland, sofern die Ergebnisse und Innovationen auch Ländern des Globalen Süden zu Gute kommen. Zudem wurden zusätzlich Programme betrachtet, die als Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie gestartet wurden. Diese umfassen Programme und Aktivitäten der WHO, humanitäre Hilfe, Impfstoffentwicklung, Krisenreaktion sowie Soforthilfen und -kredite für die Reaktion des Gesundheitssektors in Ländern des Globalen Südens. Laut Definition sind die Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen in Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie vom Indikator ausgenommen und getrennt dargestellt.

Bei den Zahlen ist zu beachten, dass eine genaue inhaltliche Abgrenzung von Programmen nicht abschließend möglich ist, da das Themenfeld umfassende Querverbindungen zu einer Vielzahl von weiteren Gesundheitsbereichen besitzt. Somit wird bei dem Indikator eine Bandbreite an Programmen berücksichtigt, wie z. B. der Beitrag Deutschlands an die WHO für dessen Notfallprogramm bzw. zur flexiblen Anschubfinanzierung von Krisenreaktionen in akuten Gesundheitsnotlagen (Contingency Fund for Emergencies), eine Impfprogrammförderung zur Reduktion von Kindersterblichkeit in der ostafrikanischen Gemeinschaft, die Verbesserung der Trinkwasser- und Sanitärversorgung in Burkina Faso sowie eine Sicherheitskooperation für biologische Bedrohungen. Neben der inhaltlichen Schwerpunktsetzung ist zu beachten, dass ein Teil der Programme allgemein auf die Stärkung globaler Koordinierungs- und Organisationskapazitäten abzielt und damit nicht ausschließlich Ländern des Globalen Südens zukommt.

Des Weiteren können präventive und reaktive Maßnahmen nicht genau abgegrenzt werden. So können einerseits präventive Kapazitätsstärkung die Reaktion auf eine pandemische Lage unterstützen und andererseits reaktive Maßnahmen einen Beitrag zur langfristigen Kapazitätsstärkung leisten. Um einen Ausreißer in den Zahlen zu vermeiden, der sich aus der Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie ergibt, sind diese Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen nicht Teil des Indikators, sondern getrennt als Information in der Grafik ausgewiesen.

Die dargestellten Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen sagen zudem nichts über den Erfolg der Programme aus. Der Indikator stellt einen monetären Beitrag Deutschlands zur Pandemieprävention und -reaktion dar. Zur Wirkung der Beiträge wäre eine weitergehende Evaluierung notwendig. Unter Berücksichtigung der oben genannten Einschränkungen bilden die ermittelten Zahlen daher keinesfalls die deutschen Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen vollständig ab, welche einen gegebenenfalls mittelbaren Einfluss auf das Themenfeld haben.

Zwischen den Jahren 2015 bis 2020 stiegen die Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen zur Pandemieprävention und -reaktion von 137,9 Millionen Euro auf 353,1 Millionen Euro (vorläufige Daten). Dies ist eine Steigerung um durchschnittlich 43,1 Millionen Euro der letzten fünf jährlichen Veränderungen. Bei Fortsetzung dieser Entwicklung würde das angestrebte Ziel, Deutschlands Beitrag bis 2030 substantiell gegenüber dem Jahr 2019 zu steigern, erreicht werden. Die Grafik verdeutlicht ebenfalls die sprunghafte Steigerung der Ausgaben bzw. Zusagen zur Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie in Höhe von 635,2 Millionen Euro im Jahr 2020.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

3.3 Beitrag Deutschlands zur globalen Pandemieprävention und -reaktion

Ziel

Steigerung der Ausgaben bis 2030

Jahr

2020

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Auswärtiges Amt (AA)

Organisation

Auswärtiges Amt (AA)

Datenquelle 2

 Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)

Datenquelle 3

 Bundesministerium für Gesundheit (BMG)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für Gesundheit (BMG)

Datenquelle 4

 Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)