Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Health and nutrition – Living healthy longer

Indicator 3.1.c, d: Smoking rate among young people and adults

SDG-3.a.1

c) Adolescents Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

d) Adults Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2017 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The smoking rate among adolescents (3.1.c) represents the percentage of 12- to 17-year-olds who indicate that they smoke regularly or occasionally. The smoking rate among adults (3.1.d) indicates the percentage of those surveyed aged 15 and above who answered the questions on smoking behaviour in the microcensus and who smoke regularly or occasionally.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Smoking poses a risk of serious damage to health and can cause premature death. This risk is not confined to smokers themselves. Non-smokers exposed to tobacco smoke are not just irritated by the smoke but can also fall ill from it. The Federal Government is pursuing the goal of reducing the percentage of adolescent smokers to 7% and that of all persons aged 15 years and older to 19% by 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-03-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The data for adolescents are collected in surveys on substance consumption among adolescents and young adults which are conducted by means of telephone interviews by the Federal Centre for Health Education. The surveys initially took place at intervals of three to four years, but since 2001 they have been conducted almost every year. In order to ensure that the data are comparable over time, they are weighted on the basis of gender, region and age. The data for years without surveys have been interpolated for inclusion in the time series. The random sample used in 2019 comprised 7,000 adolescents and young adults.

The data for adults is surveyed every four years as part of the microcensus conducted by the Federal Statistical Office. The data for years without surveys have been interpolated for inclusion in the time series for the indicator. The microcensus, which is a sample survey, covers 1% of the whole population and is the largest household survey in Germany and Europe. The responses to the questions regarding smoking habits are voluntary and were provided by 79% of respondents in 2017.

In the group of adolescents between 12 and 17 years of age, the proportion of smokers initially increased from 23.9% (1995) to 28.1% (1997 and 2001), but then declined steadily to 5.6% (5.2% for adolescent girls, 6.0% of adolescent boys) by 2019. Provided that the trend of recent years is maintained, the target value set for 2030 is already achieved.

In 2017, a total of 22.4% of the sample population above the age of 15 indicated that they smoked occasionally or regularly. This compares with a figure of 28.3 % for 1995 and 1999. The smoking rate for adults, in other words, has shown only a slight decrease. If the average trend over the last five years is maintained, the target for this sub-indicator can also be achieved.

In 2017, 18.8% of all adult respondents aged 15 years or older considered themselves regular smokers, while 3.7% smoked occasionally. The rate among women (18.6%) was significantly lower than for men (26.4%). While the proportion of women smokers has fallen by 2.9 percentage points since 1995, the proportion of men who smoke has dropped by 9.2 percentage points.

In 2017, 96.2% of the respondent smokers preferred cigarettes. The frequency of tobacco consumption is important when considering the threat to the health of individuals. A total of 10.8% of regular smokers, compared with 17.4% in 1995, fell into the category of heavy smokers with more than 20 cigarettes a day, while 81.4% smoked 5 to 20 a day. Within these figures there were also differences between the sexes. Almost one in seven of the male regular cigarette smokers was a heavy smoker, but only one in thirteen of the female smokers.

Smoking poses a high but avoidable risk to health. In 2018, 4.8% of all deaths (3.4% among women, 6.3% among men) could be attributed to symptomatic diseases for smokers (lung, bronchial, laryngeal and tracheal cancers). In 2018, the average age of those who died of lung, bronchial, and tracheal cancers was 71.1 years, which is more than seven years below the average age at death (78.4 years). Lower smoking rates would therefore help reduce premature mortality.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Time series 1

Indicator

3.1.c Smoking rate among adolescents

Target

Reduction to 7% by 2030

Year

2015

2016

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Time series 2

Indicator

3.1.d Smoking rate among adults

Target

Reduction to 19% by 2030

Year

2017

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Centre for Health Education

Organisation

Federal Centre for Health Education

Data source Addiction Prevention (only available in German) opens in a new window

Source 2

 Federal Statistical Office

Organisation

Federal Statistical Office

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Gesundheit und Ernährung – Länger gesund leben

Indikator 3.1.c, d: Raucherquote von Jugendlichen und Erwachsenen

SDG-3.a.1

c) Jugendliche Weathersymbol

(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

d) Erwachsene Weathersymbol

(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2017 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die Raucherquote von Jugendlichen (3.1.c) gibt den Anteil der 12- bis 17-Jährigen wieder, die angeben, gelegentlich oder ständig zu rauchen. Die Raucherquote von Erwachsenen (3.1.d) gibt den Anteil der Befragten ab 15 Jahren an, welche im Mikrozensus die Fragen zum Rauchverhalten beantwortet haben und gelegentlich oder regelmäßig rauchen.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Rauchen kann zu erheblichen Gesundheitsschäden und frühzeitigem Tod führen. Von diesen Risiken betroffen sind nicht nur die Raucherinnen und Raucher selbst. Auch Nichtraucherinnen und Nichtraucher, die dem Tabakrauch ausgesetzt sind, werden nicht nur vom Rauch belästigt, sondern können davon auch erkranken. Die Bundesregierung hat das Ziel, den Anteil der Raucherinnen und Raucher bei Jugendlichen bis zum Jahr 2030 auf 7 % und bei allen Personen ab 15 Jahren auf 19 % zu senken.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-03-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Die Daten für Jugendliche werden im Rahmen der Erhebungen zum Substanzkonsum bei Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen durch die Bundeszentrale für gesundheitliche Aufklärung mittels Telefoninterviews erhoben. Die Befragung erfolgte zunächst im drei- bis vierjährigen Abstand und findet seit 2001 beinahe jährlich statt. Um eine Vergleichbarkeit der Daten im Zeitverlauf zu gewährleisten, erfolgte eine Gewichtung nach Geschlecht, Region und Alter. Die Daten für Jahre ohne Erhebung wurden für die Darstellung der Zeitreihe interpoliert. Im Jahr 2019 umfasste die verwendete Zufallsstichprobe 7 000 Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene.

Die Daten für Erwachsene werden vierjährlich im Rahmen des Mikrozensus des Statistischen Bundesamtes erfragt. Die Daten für Jahre ohne Erhebung wurden für die Darstellung der Indikatordatenreihe interpoliert. Der Mikrozensus als Stichprobenerhebung umfasst 1 % der Gesamtbevölkerung und ist die größte Haushaltsbefragung in Deutschland und Europa. Die Beantwortung der Fragen zu den Rauchgewohnheiten ist freiwillig und erfolgte 2017 durch 79 % der Befragten.

In der Gruppe der Jugendlichen zwischen 12 und 17 Jahren stieg der Anteil der Raucherinnen und Raucher zunächst von 23,9 % (1995) auf 28,1 % (1997 und 2001) an, ist seitdem aber bis 2019 kontinuierlich auf 5,6 % (5,2 % der weiblichen Jugendlichen, 6,0 % der männlichen Jugendlichen) zurückgegangen. Bei Fortschreibung der Entwicklung der letzten Jahre ist der Zielwert für 2030 bereits erreicht.

Im Jahr 2017 gaben bei der Gesamtbevölkerung ab 15 Jahren insgesamt 22,4 % an, gelegentlich oder regelmäßig zu rauchen. In den Jahren 1995 und 1999 hingegen rauchten 28,3 %. Damit war die Raucherquote bei Erwachsenen leicht rückläufig. Bei gleichbleibender Entwicklung entsprechend dem Durchschnitt der letzten fünf Jahre kann das Ziel auch für diesen Teilindikator erfüllt werden.

18,8 % aller Erwachsenen ab 15 Jahren zählten sich im Jahr 2017 zu den regelmäßigen Raucherinnen und Rauchern, 3,7 % rauchten gelegentlich. Mit einem Anteil von 18,6 % rauchten Frauen deutlich weniger als Männer mit 26,4 %. Während der Anteil bei den Frauen seit 1995 um 2,9 Prozentpunkte gesunken ist, waren es bei den Männern sogar 9,2 Prozentpunkte.

2017 bevorzugten 96,2 % der befragten Raucherinnen und Raucher Zigaretten. Für das individuelle Gesundheitsrisiko durch das Rauchen ist die Menge des Tabakkonsums bedeutsam. 10,8 % der regelmäßigen Zigarettenraucherinnen und -raucher (1995: 17,4 %) waren mit mehr als 20 Zigaretten am Tag den starken Raucherinnen und Rauchern zuzurechnen, 81,4 % rauchten 5 bis 20 Zigaretten am Tag. Dabei gab es geschlechtsspezifische Unterschiede. Fast jeder siebente der regelmäßigen Zigarettenraucher rauchte stark, aber nur jede dreizehnte Raucherin.

Rauchen birgt ein hohes und gleichwohl vermeidbares Gesundheitsrisiko. Im Jahr 2018 waren 4,8 % aller Sterbefälle (3,4 % bei Frauen, 6,3 % bei Männern) auf eine für Raucherinnen und Raucher symptomatische Erkrankung (Lungen-, Bronchial-, Kehlkopf- und Luftröhrenkrebs) zurückzuführen. 2018 lag das durchschnittliche Alter der an Lungen-, Bronchial-, und Luftröhrenkrebs Gestorbenen bei 71,1 Jahren und damit knapp acht Jahre unter dem Durchschnittsalter der Gestorbenen insgesamt (78,4 Jahre). Eine verminderte Raucherquote kann daher zur Absenkung der vorzeitigen Sterblichkeit beitragen.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Zeitreihe 1

Indikator

3.1.c Raucherquote von Jugendlichen

Ziel

Senkung auf 7 % bis 2030

Jahr

2015

2016

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Zeitreihe 2

Indikator

3.1.d Raucherquote von Erwachsenen

Ziel

Senkung auf 19 % bis 2030

Jahr

2017

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Bundeszentrale für gesundheitliche Aufklärung (BZGA)

Organisation

Bundeszentrale für gesundheitliche Aufklärung (BZGA)

Datenquelle Suchtprävention in neuem Fenster öffnen

Datenquelle 2

 Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Organisation

Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)