Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Food security – Realising the right to food worldwide

Indicator 2.2: Support for good governance in attaining appropriate nutrition worldwide

SDG-2.a.2

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator measures the funds disbursed for the application of the relevant international standards and recommendations on the realisation of the right to food (defined according to the Global Strategic Framework of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS)) as a percentage of total spending on food security.



Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator is based on the assumption that the promotion of the application of international guidelines and recommendations on food security can improve the food situation and thus make an important contribution to the fulfilment of SDG 2 and the realisation of the right to food.

The indicator measures the German contribution to enhancing good governance in the context of efforts to promote food security. The proportion of funds disbursed for food security that is used for governance is to increase accordingly by 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-03-08: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-09: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The collection of data for the indicator is undertaken by the Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture (BMEL) and the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ). To this end, all project and programme documents relating to food security projects are examined. The initial survey for 2016 was reviewed externally. That validation revealed that the data collection criteria and the definition of good governance needed to be specified in order to ensure comparability of the results. The methodology was subsequently revised.

A project is now counted if the objective, the effect matrix or the project description (a) specifically names a guideline or recommendation of the Global Strategic Framework for Food Security and Nutrition, or (b) a core element of the content of a guideline/recommendation is a substantial part of the project, and the project simultaneously aims to improve legal, institutional or political conditions. There must be congruity with the recording of the related spending as official development assistance (ODA).

In 2016, EUR 148 million of ODA for food security fell under the subheading of governance. On the basis of the revised methodology, this amount corresponds to 16.7% of the total expenditure of EUR 887 million. Both the total expenditure and the expenditure under the subheading of governance are thus considerably lower than the values calculated before the methodology was revised, which put governance expenditure for 2016 at 32% of a total of EUR 1,472 million. This is primarily due to a redefinition of the concept of governance and the use of an additional criterion in the form of the OECD governance indicator or, alternatively, of the governance criteria used in German development cooperation.

In 2018, a total of EUR 223 million, or 18.3% of the total expenditure of EUR 1,215 million on ODA for food security, fell under the subheading of governance. Compared with the total amount of official development assistance, however, the proportions allocated to both governance and food security are small. In 2018, for example, total spending on ODA amounted to EUR 25 billion. Of that amount, 4.9% went to food security and 0.9% to good governance within the realm of food security.

The indicator represents one facet of Germany’s contribution to the achievement of SDG 2. In recent years the overall situation in the countries with which Germany engages in development cooperation initially showed a considerable improvement. According to figures from the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), the percentage of people suffering from undernourishment in these partner countries fell from 19% in the year 2000 to 14% in 2015. Current FAO estimates, however, indicate that the undernourishment rate has been rising worldwide since 2015 and that 280 million people were undernourished in 2018. That corresponds to 11% of the world’s population.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

2.2 Support for good governance in attaining appropriate nutrition world-wide

Target

Funds disbursed for the application of the guidelines and recommendations of the UN Committee on World Food Security (CFS) to be increased appropriately as a percentage of total spending on food security by 2030

Evaluation

Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Organisation

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Source 2

 Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture

Organisation

Federal Ministry of Food and Agriculture

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Ernährungssicherung – Das Recht auf Nahrung weltweit verwirklichen

Indikator 2.2: Unterstützung guter Regierungsführung bei der Erreichung einer angemessenen Ernährung weltweit

SDG-2.a.2

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator misst in Prozent den Anteil der ausgezahlten Mittel an den Gesamtausgaben für Ernährungssicherung, mit dem die Anwendung relevanter internationaler Normen und Empfehlungen zur Verwirklichung des Rechts auf Nahrung (definiert nach dem Global Strategic Framework des Ausschusses für die Welternährungssicherheit der Vereinten Nationen) unterstützt werden.



Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Dem Indikator liegt die Annahme zugrunde, dass durch die Förderung der Anwendung internationaler Leitlinien und Empfehlungen im Bereich Ernährungssicherung die Ernährungssituation verbessert und somit ein wichtiger Beitrag zur Erfüllung von SDG 2 und zur Verwirklichung des Rechts auf Nahrung geleistet werden kann.

Der Indikator misst den deutschen Beitrag zur Stärkung guter Regierungsführung im Kontext von Ernährungssicherung. Der Anteil der ausgezahlten Mittel für Ernährungssicherung, der für Governance eingesetzt wird, soll bis 2030 angemessen steigen.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-03-08: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-09: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Die Datenerhebung für den Indikator wird durch das Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL) und das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) vorgenommen. Hierfür erfolgt eine Prüfung aller Projekt- und Programm-dokumente zu Vorhaben im Bereich der Ernährungssicherung. Die Ersterhebung für 2016 wurde extern überprüft. Diese Validierung hat gezeigt, dass im Hinblick auf eine Vergleichbarkeit der Ergebnisse die Kriterien zur Datenerhebung sowie die Definition zu guter Regierungsführung (Governance) zu konkretisieren sind. In der Folge wurde die Methodik überarbeitet.

Ein Projekt wird nun angerechnet, wenn im Ziel, in der Wirkungsmatrix oder der Projekt-beschreibung a) eine Leitlinie oder eine Empfehlung des Global Strategic Framework für Ernährungssicherung konkret genannt wird oder b) ein inhaltliches Kernelement einer Leitlinie/ Empfehlung substantieller Teil des Vorhabens ist und gleichzeitig das Vorhaben die Stärkung rechtlicher, institutioneller oder politischer Rahmenbedingungen zum Ziel hat. Eine Kongruenz zur Erfassung der diesbezüglichen Ausgaben als öffentliche Entwicklungsausgaben (ODA) muss gegeben sein.

In 2016 wurden für den Teilbereich Governance 148 Millionen Euro der ODA im Bereich Ernährungssicherung ausgegeben. Der Anteil beträgt nach Überarbeitung der Methodik 16,7 % der Gesamtausgaben in Höhe von 887 Millionen Euro. Damit liegen sowohl die Gesamtausgaben als auch die Ausgaben für den Teilbereich Governance deutlich unter den Werten vor der Überarbeitung der Methodik (2016: 32 % der Gesamtausgaben in Höhe von 1 472 Millionen Euro). Dieses ist v. a. auf einen geänderten Governance-Begriff und Zugrundelegung der Governance-Kennung der OECD (bzw. alternativ die Anwendung der Governance-Kriterien der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit) als zusätzliches Kriterium zurückzuführen.

Im Jahr 2018 umfasste der Teilbereich Governance mit 223 Millionen Euro 18,3 % der ODA-Gesamtausgaben für Ernährungssicherung in Höhe von 1 215 Millionen Euro. Im Vergleich zu den gesamten öffentlichen Entwicklungsausgaben machten jedoch sowohl der Bereich Governance als auch der Bereich Ernährungssicherung lediglich einen kleinen Teil aus. So wurden im Jahr 2018 insgesamt 25 Milliarden Euro ODA geleistet. Davon entfielen 4,9 % auf Ernährungssicherung bzw. 0,9 % auf gute Regierungsführung im Bereich Ernährungssicherung.

Der Indikator stellt einen Ausschnitt von Deutschlands Beitrag zum Erreichen des SDGs 2 dar. Insgesamt hatte sich die Situation in den Partnerländern der deutschen Entwicklungs-zusammenarbeit in den letzten Jahren zunächst deutlich verbessert. So sank, basierend auf Zahlen der Ernährungs- und Landwirtschaftsorganisation der Vereinten Nationen (FAO), der Anteil der Menschen, die in den Partnerländern an Unterernährung leiden, von 2000 bis 2015 von 19 % auf 14 %. Nach aktuellen Schätzungen der FAO ist der Anteil der unterernährten Menschen seit 2015 weltweit wieder gestiegen und umfasste 820 Millionen Menschen in 2018. Dies entsprach 11% der Weltbevölkerung.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

2.2 Unterstützung guter Regierungsführung bei der Erreichung einer angemessenen Ernährung weltweit

Ziel

Angemessene Steigerung des Anteils der ausgezahlten Mittel für die Anwendung von Leitlinien und Empfehlungen des VN-Welternährungsausschusses (CFS) an den Gesamtausgaben für Ernährungssicherung in % bis 2030

Bewertung

Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Datenquelle 2

 Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für Ernährung und Landwirtschaft (BMEL)