Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Good governance – Combating corruption

Indicator 16.3.a, b: Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) in Germany and in partner countries in the German development cooperation

SDG-16.5.1

a) CPI Germany Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

b) Partner countries Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicators show Germany’s score in the Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) maintained by Transparency International (16.3.a) as well as the number of partner countries involved in German development cooperation whose CPI scores have improved compared with 2012 (16.3.b). CPI scores reflect the extent to which a country’s public sector is perceived to be corrupt.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The intention is to further improve the CPI score for Germany by 2030. In addition, the CPI scores of the majority of partner countries involved in German development cooperation are also to be improved. The base year in each case is 2012.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-02-19: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The CPI is a composite indicator that is based on various expert and corporate surveys regarding the perception of corruption in the public sector. Depending on the survey, underlying definitions of corruption may differ, and the sources used for calculations may change over time. The index includes all countries for which at least three selected surveys are available. As such, the CPI is the most comprehensive synoptic study on perceived public sector corruption.

In its analysis of the CPI, the Joint Research Centre of the European Commission points out that interpretation of the findings should take into account whether a change is statistically significant and that the outcomes in this indicator should be treated with caution even where this is the case.

Germany’s score improved from 79 in 2012 to 80 in 2019. That is one point down from its score in 2017, which leaves Germany ranked in tenth place on the index. In this case, the change compared with 2012 cannot be considered statistically significant (at a significance level of 5%).

The Federal Statistical Office also gathers information on corruption as part of its satisfaction survey on public services. According to that survey, 4.7% of the population formed the impression during their interaction with public institutions in 2019 that public-service employees were susceptible to corruption. In the corresponding survey of companies, 4.0% of businesses had the impression that public-service employees were open to corruption.

The Police Crime Statistics record all criminal matters that become known to the police. In 2019, these included 913 cases of corruptibility, bribery, or acceptance or granting of advantages in the public sector. The Police Crime Statistics also list cases of corruptibility and bribery in commercial practice as well as what are referred to as offences associated with corruption, such as fraud and breach of trust, falsification of documents, anti-competitive agreements during tendering procedures, obstruction of justice, false certification by officials and breach of official secrecy.

Turning to German development cooperation, a total of 43 of the 85 partner countries evaluated in the CPI improved in 2019 compared with 2012. The number of partner countries developing in a positive direction increased in each year of the reporting period until 2016. It declined slightly in 2017 and stagnated thereafter. However, 20 partner countries involved in German development cooperation showed a statistically significant improvement (at a significance level of 5%) in 2019 over 2012.

For comparison, six partner countries reported a significant improvement in 2014.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Time series 1

Indicator

16.3.a Corruption Perceptions Index in Germany

Target

Improvement by 2030, compared to 2012

Year

2017

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Time series 2

Indicator

16.3.b Corruption Perceptions Index in partner countries of German development cooperation

Target

Improvement by 2030, compared to 2012

Year

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Transparency International e.V.

Organisation

Transparency International e.V.

Data source Corruption Perceptions Index opens in a new window

Source 2

 Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Organisation

Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Gute Regierungsführung – Korruption bekämpfen

Indikator 16.3.a, b: Corruption Perception Index in Deutschland sowie in den Partnerländern der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

SDG-16.5.1

a) CPI Deutschland Weathersymbol

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

b) Partnerländer Weathersymbol

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die Indikatoren geben den Corruption Perception Index (CPI) von Transparency International für Deutschland (16.3.a) sowie die Anzahl der Partnerländer der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit, deren CPI sich im Vergleich zum Jahr 2012 verbessert hat (16.3.b), wieder. Der CPI misst, wie stark Korruption im öffentlichen Sektor in einem Land wahrgenommen wird.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Bis 2030 wird eine weitere Verbesserung des CPI für Deutschland angestrebt. Zudem soll sich auch der CPI der Mehrzahl der Partnerländer der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit verbessern. Basisjahr ist dabei jeweils das Jahr 2012.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-02-19: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Der CPI ist ein Kompositindikator, der auf unterschiedlichen Experten- sowie Unternehmensbefragungen zur Wahrnehmung von Korruption im öffentlichen Sektor basiert. Abhängig von der jeweiligen Befragung können unterschiedliche Verständnisse von Korruption zugrunde liegen und die Quellen für die Berechnung im Zeitablauf wechseln. In den Index werden Länder mit einbezogen, zu denen mindestens drei ausgewählte Befragungen vorliegen. Somit ist der CPI die am meisten Länder umfassende Übersichtsstudie zur wahrgenommen Korruption im öffentlichen Sektor.

Das Joint Research Centre der Europäischen Kommission weist in seiner Analyse des CPI darauf hin, dass bei der Interpretation der Ergebnisse die jeweilige statistische Signifikanz der Veränderung mitbetrachtet werden sollte und selbst bei statistisch signifikanten Unterschieden die Ergebnisse dieses Indikators mit Vorsicht zu interpretieren seien.

Deutschland hat sich im Vergleich zum Jahr 2012 von 79 auf 80 Punkte im Jahr 2019 verbessert. Dieser Wert hat sich gegenüber 2017 um einen Punkt verschlechtert, sodass Deutschland auf dem zehnten Platz des Rankings steht. Dabei ist diese Veränderung gegenüber 2012 nicht als statistisch signifikant (bei einem Signifikanzniveau von 5 %) anzusehen.

Auch das Statistische Bundesamt erhebt im Rahmen der Zufriedenheitsbefragung zu behördlichen Dienstleistungen Daten zum Thema Korruption. Nach dieser hatten im Jahr 2019 4,7 % der Bevölkerung während ihres Kontakts mit öffentlichen Einrichtungen den Eindruck, dass Beschäftigte des öffentlichen Dienstes bestechlich wären. Bei der entsprechenden Umfrage unter Unternehmen hatten 4,0 % der Unternehmen den Eindruck, dass Beschäftigte des öffentlichen Dienstes bestechlich wären.

Die Polizeiliche Kriminalstatistik (PKS) erfasst alle der Polizei bekannt gewordenen strafrechtlichen Sachverhalte. Im Jahr 2019 wurden 913 Fälle von Vorteilsannahme, Vorteilsgewährung sowie Bestechlichkeit und Bestechung im öffentlichen Sektor erfasst. Zudem werden in der PKS auch Fälle von Bestechlichkeit und Bestechung im geschäftlichen Verkehr sowie sogenannte Begleitdelikte der Korruption wie zum Beispiel Betrugs- und Untreuehandlungen, Urkundenfälschung, wettbewerbsbeschränkende Absprachen bei Ausschreibungen, Strafvereitelung, Falschbeurkundung im Amt und Verletzung des Dienstgeheimnisses ausgewiesen.

In Bezug auf die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit haben sich im Jahr 2019 im Vergleich zum Jahr 2012 insgesamt 43 der 85 durch den CPI bewerteten Partnerländer verbessert. Die Anzahl der sich positiv entwickelnden Partnerländer ist im betrachteten Zeitraum bis 2016 jedes Jahr gestiegen. Im Jahr 2017 ist die Anzahl leicht zurückgegangen und stagnierte in den Folgejahren. Eine statistisch signifikante Verbesserung (bei einem Signifikanzniveau von 5 %) wiesen in 2019 gegenüber 2012 20 Partnerländer der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit auf, im Vergleich dazu waren es 2014 sechs Partnerländer.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Zeitreihe 1

Indikator

16.3.a Corruption Perception Index in Deutschland

Ziel

Verbesserung gegenüber 2012 bis 2030

Jahr

2017

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Zeitreihe 2

Indikator

16.3.b Corruption Perception Index in den Partnerländern der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit

Ziel

Verbesserung gegenüber 2012 bis 2030

Jahr

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Transparency International e.V.

Organisation

Transparency International e.V.

Datenquelle Corruption Perceptions Index (nur auf Englisch verfügbar) in neuem Fenster öffnen

Datenquelle 2

 Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)

Organisation

Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ)