Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Ecosystems – Protecting ecosystems, conserving ecosystem services and preserving habitats

Indicator 15.2: Eutrophication of ecosystems

(Evaluation of the year 2015 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator depicts the area of sensitive ecosystems where critical ecological loads have been exceeded due to atmospheric nitrogen inputs, as a proportion of the total area of sensitive ecosystems assessed.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Critical ecological loads are a measure of the sensitivity of an ecosystem to inputs of a pollutant. If the input of airborne pollutants are below those critical loads, current scientific knowledge suggests that the structure and function of an ecosystem will not suffer harmful effects. Almost half of all the ferns and flowering plants that are included on the red list in Germany are endangered by nitrogen inputs. The aim is to reduce the share of land that is subject to elevated inputs of nitrogen by 35% by 2030 compared with 2005. This means reducing that share to 50% of the area of all the sensitive ecosystems assessed.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2020-01-22: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

Nitrogen, which escapes into the atmosphere bonded in ammonia and nitrogen oxides, can be introduced into ecosystems in gaseous form, dissolved in rain, or as a component of particulate matter. Emissions of ammonia and nitrogen oxides are depicted as part of indicator 3.2.a on emissions of air pollutants, and developments in that area directly affect the eutrophication of ecosystems. The sensitive ecosystems covered in the calculations for this indicator are forests, natural grassland, wetlands, marshes and heathland.

Excessive inputs of nitrogen compounds from the air into land ecosystems can result in nutrient imbalances. The alterations in nutrient availability can lead, for example, to changes in the species composition of an ecosystem, with organisms which prefer nitrogen-poor locations being driven out in favour of nitrogen-loving species. Meanwhile, many plants can be rendered vulnerable to frost, drought and pests by changes in nutrient availability. The effects of excessive nitrogen inputs often take several years to manifest themselves. Likewise, the positive effects of reduced inputs will become apparent only after an extended period.

For the purposes of evaluating nitrogen inputs, ecosystem-specific critical loads are determined which represent the saturation points below which, based on the latest knowledge available, the structures, functions and biological communities of an ecosystem remain protected. In total, around 11 million hectares, almost one third of the entire land mass of Germany, are assessed in this way.

In 2015, the critical loads for harmful nitrogen inputs were exceeded on 68% of the area of all the sensitive ecosystems assessed in Germany. Excesses were particularly high in parts of northern Germany, where agricultural activity releases large quantities of reactive nitrogen compounds.

Between 2005 and 2011, the proportion of areas in which critical loads for nitrogen were exceeded was reduced by nine percentage points. The indicator rose again slightly in the two subsequent years before returning to the 2011 level by 2015. The share of land where nitrogen was in excess of the critical load has thus not fallen any further since 2011.

The calculations for this indicator are produced by the Federal Environment Agency and derived from two data sets. The first of these is the critical-load data set, which the Federal Environment Agency provides for the purposes of international reporting under the aegis of the Geneva Convention on Long-Range Transboundary Air Pollution (CLRTAP). The tools used to determine that data set include the soil overview map of Germany, the map showing average annual rates of percolation into the soil, the map of land-use distribution and climatological data for Germany. The second data set comprises a time series of nitrogen inputs in Germany and was compiled as part of the PINETI III (Pollutant INput and EcosysTem Impact) project.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

15.2 Eutrophication of ecosystems

Target

Reduction by 35% by 2030 compared to 2005

Year

2012

2013

2014

2015

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Ökosysteme – Ökosysteme schützen, Ökosystemleistungen erhalten und Lebensräume bewahren

Indikator 15.2: Eutrophierung der Ökosysteme

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2015 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator stellt den Anteil der Fläche empfindlicher Ökosysteme dar, bei der die ökologischen Belastungsgrenzen (Critical Loads) durch atmosphärische Stickstoffeinträge überschritten wurden, gemessen an der gesamten bewerteten Fläche empfindlicher Ökosysteme.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die ökologischen Belastungsgrenzen sind ein Maß für die Empfindlichkeit eines Ökosystems gegenüber dem Eintrag eines Schadstoffs. Liegen die Einträge von Luftschadstoffen unter diesen Critical Loads, ist nach heutigem Stand des Wissens nicht mit schädlichen Wirkungen auf Struktur und Funktion eines Ökosystems zu rechnen. Fast die Hälfte aller Farn- und Blütenpflanzen, die in Deutschland in der Roten Liste aufgeführt werden, sind durch Nährstoffeinträge gefährdet. Bis zum Jahr 2030 soll der Flächenanteil mit erhöhtem Stickstoffeintrag um 35 % gegenüber 2005 reduziert werden. Dies entspricht einer Senkung auf 50 % der bewerteten Fläche empfindlicher Ökosysteme.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2020-01-22: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Stickstoff, der gebunden in Ammoniak und Stickoxiden in die Atmosphäre gelangt, kann gasförmig, in Regen gelöst oder als Bestandteil des Feinstaubs in Ökosysteme eingetragen werden. Die Emissionen von Ammoniak und Stickoxiden werden als Teil des Indikators 3.2.a „Emissionen von Luftschadstoffen“ dargestellt und deren Entwicklung beeinflusst direkt die Eutrophierung der Ökosysteme. Als empfindliche Ökosysteme, die in die Berechnung des Indikators eingehen, werden Wälder, natürliches Grünland, Moore, Sümpfe und Heiden betrachtet.

Durch einen übermäßigen Eintrag von Stickstoffverbindungen aus der Luft in Land-Ökosysteme können Nährstoffungleichgewichte entstehen. In Folge des geänderten Nährstoffangebots ändert sich zum Beispiel die Artenzusammensetzung: Organismen, die stickstoffarme Standorte bevorzugen, werden zugunsten stickstoffliebender Arten verdrängt. Außerdem können viele Pflanzen durch die Veränderung der Nährstoff-Verfügbarkeit anfälliger gegenüber Frost, Dürre und Schädlingen werden. Auswirkungen eines übermäßigen Stickstoffeintrages treten oft erst einige Jahre später auf. Ebenso sind positive Effekte aufgrund geminderten Eintrages erst nach längerer Zeit zu erkennen.

Zur Bewertung der Stickstoffeinträge werden ökosystemspezifische Belastungsgrenzen ermittelt, bei deren Einhaltung nach heutigem Wissensstand Strukturen und Funktionen sowie die Artengemeinschaften eines Ökosystems geschützt sind. Insgesamt werden auf diese Weise etwa elf Millionen Hektar, das heißt nahezu ein Drittel der Fläche Deutschlands, bewertet.

Im Jahr 2015 wurden in Deutschland auf 68 % der Fläche aller bewerteten empfindlichen Ökosysteme die Belastungsgrenzen für schädlichen Stickstoffeintrag überschritten. Besonders hoch sind hier Überschreitungen in Teilen Norddeutschlands, da hier durch die Landwirtschaft große Mengen reaktiver Stickstoffverbindungen freigesetzt werden.

Zwischen 2005 und 2011 konnte der Anteil der Flächen, auf denen die Belastungsgrenzen für Stickstoff überschritten wurden, um 9 Prozentpunkte gesenkt werden. In den zwei Folgejahren stieg der Indikator wieder leicht an, um bis zum Jahr 2015 wieder auf den Wert des Jahres 2011 zu sinken. Somit hat sich der Anteil der Flächen, auf denen die Belastungsgrenzen für Stickstoff überschritten wurden seit dem Jahr 2011 nicht weiter verringert.

Die Berechnung des Indikators wird vom Umweltbundesamt (UBA) vorgenommen und basiert auf zwei Datensätzen. Der erste Datensatz ist der Critical-Load-Datensatz, der vom UBA für die internationale Berichterstattung im Rahmen der Genfer Luftreinhaltekonvention (CLRTAP) bereitgestellt wird. Grundlagen zur Ermittlung dieses Datensatzes sind unter anderem die Bodenübersichtskarte Deutschlands, die Karte der jährlichen mittleren Sickerwasserrate in den Boden, die Karte der Landnutzungsverteilung sowie Klimadaten Deutschlands. Der zweite Datensatz beinhaltet eine Zeitreihe der Stickstoffeinträge in Deutschland und wurde im Rahmen des PINETI III-Projektes (Pollutant INput and EcosysTem Impact) berechnet.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

15.2 Eutrophierung der Ökosysteme

Ziel

Verringerung um 35 % bis 2030 gegenüber 2005

Jahr

2012

2013

2014

2015

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich