Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Sustainable production – Steadily increasing the proportion of sustainable production

Indicator 12.2: EMAS eco-management

SDG-12.6.1
(Evaluation of the development of Germany in the reporting year 2019 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The indicator shows the number of locations in Germany registered with EMAS, the Eco-Management and Audit Scheme, for German as well as foreign organisations.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Climate change, the energy transition and scarcity of resources are presenting companies with new challenges that are forcing them to reconfigure their business processes, structures and products along environmentally responsible and resource-saving lines. EMAS offers a strategy for organisations to pursue systematic environmental protection, with the ultimate aim of steadily improving their locations’ environmental performance. The goal is therefore to identify a total of 5,000 organisation premises for registration with EMAS by 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-03-08: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

EMAS is a voluntary instrument of the European Union that helps organisations of any size and in any sector to continuously improve their environmental performance. Having EMAS certification does not automatically mean that organisations or their products are more environmentally friendly than comparable organisations and products. EMAS involves a reporting obligation requiring organisations to submit environmental statements. These statements include reporting on the main environmental impacts of the organisation in question as well as data pertaining to energy and material efficiency, emissions, water, waste and use of land/biodiversity. Organisations have to update their environmental statements annually, with the exception introduced in 2010 that SMEs can apply to do so every two years instead. The environmental statement, which is public, and various additional internal documents are inspected by independent, licensed environmental verifiers. The verification must be repeated on a regular basis, no less than every three years. Organisations that pass the verification process and have no breaches of environmental regulations or complaints to answer for are added to the EMAS register. The German EMAS Advisory Board is responsible for quality assurance. EMAS organisations and locations are registered by the responsible chambers of industry and commerce and stored in a publicly accessible database at the Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry.

In terms of methodology, it should be noted that the EMAS register shows the number of registrations. Participating organisations are free to include several locations under a single organisation registration (corporate registration) or to have their locations registered individually. Some organisations have had their sites abroad registered in Germany. These are present in the EMAS register, but they are not included in the number of EMAS locations recorded here.

In 2019, there were 2,176 EMAS locations registered in Germany. This equates to an increase of 11% compared with 2005. Considered over the last five years, the indicator has been gradually moving in the direction of the target. Nevertheless, if that trend continues unchanged, the goal for 2030 will not be achieved.

The registered organisations employed a total of 988,401 people in 2019. This equates to an decline of 2.8% compared with 2005.

The 2,176 EMAS locations on the register in 2019 belong to 1,150 German organisations and one organisation headquartered abroad. The number of German organisations had shrunk by 22.9% since 2005. Furthermore, those organisations were very well spread throughout the country. The majority were based in Baden-Württemberg (347) and Bavaria (288), followed by North Rhine-Westphalia (105). In contrast, there were just two registered organisations in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania. Divided by sector, the distribution in 2019 was as follows: 38.3% of the German organisations represented the manufacturing industry, 9.4% miscellaneous services, 8.0% the education sector and 7.6% the hospitality industry. It should be noted that some of the organisations belong to more than one sector.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

12.2 EMAS eco-management

Target

5,000 locations of organisations by 2030

Year

2016

2017

2018

2019

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

 Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry

Organisation

Association of German Chambers of Commerce and Industry

Data source EMAS statistics (only available in German) opens in a new window

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Nachhaltige Produktion – Anteil nachhaltiger Produktion stetig erhöhen

Indikator 12.2: Umweltmanagement EMAS

SDG-12.6.1
(Bewertung der Entwicklung Deutschlands im Bezugsjahr 2019 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Indikator zeigt die Anzahl der in Deutschland für das Umweltmanagementsystem EMAS (Eco-Management and Audit Scheme) registrierten Standorte sowohl deutscher als auch ausländischer Organisationen.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Klimawandel, Energiewende und Ressourcenknappheit stellen Unternehmen vor neue Herausforderungen mit der Folge, dass sie ihre betriebswirtschaftlichen Abläufe, Strukturen und Produkte entsprechend umwelt- und ressourcenschonend gestalten müssen. Das Umweltmanagementsystem EMAS bietet ein Konzept für einen systematischen betrieblichen Umweltschutz und ist mit dem Anspruch verbunden, die Umweltleistung des Organisationsstandortes stetig zu verbessern. Deshalb lautet das Ziel, bis zum Jahr 2030 insgesamt 5 000 Organisationsstandorte für das Umweltmanagement EMAS auszuweisen.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-03-08: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

EMAS ist ein freiwilliges Instrument der Europäischen Union, das Organisationen jeder Größe und Branche dabei unterstützt, ihre Umweltleistung kontinuierlich zu verbessern. Eine EMAS-Zertifizierung impliziert dabei nicht, dass eine Organisation oder ihre Produkte per se umweltfreundlicher als vergleichbare Organisationen bzw. Produkte sind. Mit EMAS ist eine Umweltberichtspflicht (sogenannte Umwelterklärung) verbunden. Diese beinhaltet die Berichterstattung zu den wesentlichen Umweltauswirkungen des betreffenden Unternehmens sowie die Datenbereitstellung zu den Themenfeldern Energie- und Materialeffizienz, Emissionen, Wasser, Abfall und Flächenverbrauch/biologische Vielfalt. Die Umwelterklärung muss von den Organisationen jährlich – seit 2010 von kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen auf Antrag zweijährlich – aktualisiert werden. Die öffentliche Umwelterklärung sowie weitere interne Dokumente werden von unabhängigen, staatlich zugelassenen Umweltgutachterinnen und -gutachtern geprüft. Die Prüfung ist regelmäßig und dabei spätestens alle drei Jahre zu wiederholen. Organisationen, welche die Überprüfung erfolgreich bestehen und bei denen keine Umweltrechtsverstöße oder Beschwerden vorliegen, werden in das EMAS-Register eingetragen. Für die Qualitätssicherung ist der Umweltgutachterausschuss1 zuständig. EMAS-Organisationen und -Standorte werden durch die zuständige Industrie- und Handelskammer oder Handwerkskammer registriert und in einer öffentlich zugänglichen Datenbank beim Deutschen Industrie- und Handelskammertag gespeichert.

Methodisch ist zu beachten, dass im EMAS-Register die Anzahl der Registrierungen abgebildet wird. Teilnehmenden Organisationen steht es frei, unter einer Organisationsregistrierung mehrere Standorte aufzunehmen (Sammelregistrierung) oder Standorte einzeln registrieren zu lassen. Einige Organisationen haben zum Teil auch ihre ausländischen Standorte in Deutschland registrieren lassen. Diese befinden sich ebenfalls im EMAS-Register, sind jedoch bei der hier ausgewiesenen Anzahl der EMAS-Standorte nicht enthalten.

Im Jahr 2019 waren in Deutschland 2 176 EMAS-Standorte registriert. Dies entspricht einer Erhöhung um 11 % gegenüber 2005. Betrachtet man die Entwicklung der letzten fünf Jahre, so hat sich der Indikator im Durchschnitt leicht in Richtung des Ziels entwickelt. Bei gleichbleiben-der Entwicklung würde das Ziel für 2030 allerdings deutlich verfehlt werden.

Die Anzahl der Beschäftigten in den registrierten Organisationen betrug im Jahr 2019 insgesamt 988 401 Personen. Dies entsprach einer Erhöhung von 2,8 % gegenüber 2005.

Die 2 176 im Jahr 2019 registrieren EMAS-Standorte gehörten insgesamt 1 150 deutschen Organisationen an und einer Organisation mit Sitz im Ausland. Die Zahl der deutschen Organisationen ist seit 2005 um 22,9 % gesunken. Darüber hinaus waren die Organisationen im Jahr 2019 sehr heterogen auf das Bundesgebiet verteilt. Die meisten waren in Baden-Württemberg (347) und Bayern (288) angesiedelt, gefolgt von Nordrhein-Westfalen (105). In Mecklenburg-Vorpommern gab es dagegen nur zwei registrierte Organisationen. Die Verteilung nach Wirtschaftsbereichen im Jahr 2019 gestaltete sich wie folgt: 38,3 % der deutschen Organisationen gehörten dem Verarbeitenden Gewerbe, 9,4 % der Erbringung von sonstigen Dienstleistungen, 8,0 % dem Bereich Erziehung und Unterricht sowie 7,6 % dem Gastgewerbe an. Zu beachten ist, dass die Organisationen teilweise mehreren Wirtschaftsbereichen zugeordnet sind.

1Der Umweltgutachterausschuss ist ein unabhängiges Beratungsgremium des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

12.2 Umweltmanagement EMAS

Ziel

5 000 Organisationsstandorte bis 2030

Jahr

2016

2017

2018

2019

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

 Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag e. V. (DIHK)

Organisation

Deutscher Industrie- und Handelskammertag e. V. (DIHK)

Datenquelle EMAS-Statistiken in neuem Fenster öffnen