Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Sustainable consumption – Making consumption environmentally and socially compatible

Indicator 12.1.b: Global environmental impact by private household consumption

a) Use of raw materials Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the year 2016 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

b) Energy consumption Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the year 2016 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

c) CO2 emissions Weathersymbol

(Evaluation of the year 2016 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

The impact caused to the environment around the world by private household consumption is shown here by three indicators. They are domestic and foreign energy consumption, emissions of carbon dioxide (CO2) and the use of raw materials in connection with the production and use of all goods destined for the consumption of private households in Germany.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Through their spending habits, private households are responsible for a significant proportion of an economy’s consumption of resources. That consumption occurs not only within the country in question but also indirectly includes the consumption which is involved in the production of imported goods. The indicator therefore provides information about the impact being done to the environment on a global scale as a result of private household consumption. Reducing energy consumption, for example, will conserve resources both domestically and abroad and prevent environmentally harmful carbon dioxide emissions. The intention of the German Government is to continuously cut the environmental impact that occurs in connection with private household consumption in all three areas.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-02-05: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The spending habits of private households affect the environment in various ways. This indicator reflects three of the factors behind this impact, namely energy, CO2 emissions and the use of raw materials. The relevant data are collected in the environmental economic accounts of a range of governmental and non-governmental sources.

Resources may be consumed by households directly or indirectly. Direct consumption might be the use of gas for heating, fuel for transport or food to eat. Resources are also tied up or consumed at every stage of the process of manufacturing and transporting consumer goods both within Germany and abroad. All of that counts as indirect consumption by German private households when they buy and use those goods. Both types of consumption are included in the present indicator, the environmental impact represented in terms of energy, raw materials and CO2.

The use of raw materials, energy consumption and CO2 emissions are closely interconnected. To use coal, oil and gas – material resources – in power plants and boilers to produce electricity and heat is simultaneously to consume energy. As a rule, the burning of fuels also results in the emission of CO2.

However, the use of raw materials is not restricted to fuels. This is clear from the time series in the graph: while the data for energy consumption and emissions follow a fluctuating but generally downwards trend, the change in the use of raw materials is less marked. That factor is made up both of abiotic resources, which include other mineral resources like sand and salts as well as fuels, and of renewable resources like the products of farming and forestry. While the use of abiotic resources is steadily shrinking, there are greater fluctuations in the area of agricultural products. This resulted in a slight overall reduction of 3% between 2010 and 2016.

In contrast, energy consumption went down by 6% during the same period. Energy loss incurred during the generation of electricity and district heat for consumption by private households is counted as indirect consumption. Energy consumption can be split according to the different fields in which it occurs, namely home life, transport, food, other products and services. At around 3,402 petajoules in total, home life accounted for the largest proportion, 36% of private household consumption, in 2016.

A similar trend can be seen in CO2 emissions. The vast majority of emissions are generated indirectly, during the manufacturing process of consumer goods in Germany and abroad, rather than during the actual consumption of the goods. The total CO2 emissions caused by private household consumption in 2016 amounted to 667 million tonnes. The ratio of direct to indirect emissions was around 1:2. Between 2010 and 2016, direct CO2 emissions fell by 6%, while the emissions footprint of consumer goods fell by 1%. The last five years, on the other hand, show no reduction but a slight increase in emissions.

This indicator can be usefully cross-referenced with indicator 8.1 on raw material input productivity.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Time series 1

Indicator

12.1.ba Global environmental impact by private household consumption – use of raw materials

Target

Steady reduction

Year

2015

2016

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Time series 2

Indicator

12.1.bb Global environmental impact by private household consumption – energy consumption

Target

Steady reduction

Year

2015

2016

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Time series 3

Indicator

12.1.bc Global environmental impact by private household consumption – CO2 emissions

Target of indicator

Steady reduction

YearD

2015

2016

Status year D Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

 Federal Statistical Office

Organisation

Federal Statistical Office

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Nachhaltiger Konsum – Konsum umwelt- und sozialverträglich gestalten

Indikator 12.1.b: Globale Umweltinanspruchnahme durch den Konsum privater Haushalte

a) Rohstoffeinsatz Weathersymbol

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2016 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

b) Energieverbrauch Weathersymbol

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2016 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

c) CO2-Emissionen Weathersymbol

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2016 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Die globale Beanspruchung der Umwelt durch den Konsum privater Haushalte wird hier durch drei Indikatoren dargestellt. Das sind im Einzelnen der in- und ausländische Energieverbrauch, Ausstoß von Kohlendioxid (CO2) und Rohstoffeinsatz im Zusammenhang mit der Produktion und dem Verbrauch aller Güter für die Konsumaktivitäten inländischer privater Haushalte.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Private Haushalte haben durch Konsumaktivitäten einen wesentlichen Anteil am Ressourcenverbrauch einer Volkswirtschaft. Dieser Verbrauch erstreckt sich jedoch nicht nur auf das Inland, sondern findet durch die Produktion importierter Güter auch indirekt im Ausland statt. Der Indikator gibt daher Aufschluss über die globale Umweltinanspruchnahme durch Konsumaktivitäten privater Haushalte. Mit einer Minderung beispielsweise des Energieverbrauchs werden Ressourcen im In- und Ausland eingespart und klimaschädliche Kohlendioxidemissionen vermieden. Ziel der Bundesregierung ist es, die Umweltinanspruchnahme in Zusammenhang mit den Konsumaktivitäten privater Haushalte in allen drei Bereichen kontinuierlich zu reduzieren.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-02-05: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-04-19: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Das Konsumverhalten privater Haushalte hat verschiedene Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt. Der Indikator stellt drei der verantwortlichen Einflussfaktoren, nämlich Energie, CO2-Emissionen und den Rohstoffeinsatz, dar. Die zugehörigen Daten werden in den Umweltökonomischen Gesamtrechnungen aus verschiedenen amtlichen und nichtamtlichen Quellen errechnet.

Ressourcen können direkt oder indirekt durch Haushalte konsumiert werden. Der Einsatz von Erdgas, etwa zum Heizen, oder von Kraftstoff im Straßenverkehr, aber auch der Verzehr von Nahrung zählen zum direkten Konsum. Zudem werden Ressourcen auch während des gesamten Herstellungsprozesses von Konsumgütern und deren Transport im In- und Ausland in den Gütern gebunden oder verbraucht. Der Konsum erfolgt dann indirekt bei Erwerb und Nutzung dieser Güter durch inländische private Haushalte. Beide Arten des Konsums werden mit dem vorliegenden Indikator erfasst und getrennt für Energie, Rohstoffe und CO2 dargestellt.

Rohstoffeinsatz, Energieverbrauch und CO2-Ausstoß sind eng miteinander verbunden. Der stoffliche Einsatz von Kohle, Öl oder Gas in Kraftwerken und Heizungen zur Produktion von Strom und Wärme ist gleichzeitig ein Verbrauch von Energie. Zudem zieht das Verbrennen von Energieträgern in der Regel auch den Ausstoß von CO2 nach sich.

Der Einsatz von Rohstoffen umfasst jedoch nicht nur Energieträger. Dies wird auch in den Zeitreihen offenbar: Während die Daten für Energieverbrauch und Emissionen einen wellenförmigen, insgesamt rückläufigen Verlauf aufweisen, ist diese Entwicklung für den Rohstoffeinsatz weniger markant. In den Rohstoffeinsatz fließen nämlich neben abiotischen Rohstoffen, zu denen neben Energieträgern beispielsweise auch andere mineralische Rohstoffe wie Sand oder Salze gehören, auch erneuerbare Rohstoffe, wie land- und forstwirtschaftliche Erzeugnisse. Während der Einsatz von abiotischen Rohstoffen kontinuierlich sinkt, gibt es im Bereich der landwirtschaftlichen Erzeugnisse größere Schwankungen. Dies führte für den Zeitraum 2010 bis 2016 insgesamt zu einem leichten Rückgang um 3 %.

Im gleichen Zeitraum verzeichnete der Energieverbrauch dagegen einen Rückgang um 6 %. Verluste, die bei der Erzeugung von Strom und Fernwärme für den Konsum privater Haushalte anfallen, sind dabei im indirekten Verbrauch berücksichtigt. Der Energieverbrauch lässt sich in die Bedarfsfelder Wohnen, Mobilität, Ernährung, sonstige Produkte und Dienstleistungen gliedern. Der Bereich Wohnen machte dabei im Jahr 2016 mit insgesamt rund 3 402 Petajoule (36 % des Gesamtverbrauchs der privaten Haushalte) den größten Teil aus.

Die CO2-Emissionen zeigen eine ähnliche Entwicklung. Die überwiegenden Mengen an Emissionen entstehen bereits indirekt bei der Produktion der Konsumgüter im In- und Ausland und nicht erst beim Konsum der Güter selbst. Insgesamt betrugen die CO2-Emissionen durch den Konsum privater Haushalte im Jahr 2016 667 Millionen Tonnen. Dabei lag das Verhältnis zwischen direkten und indirekten Emissionen bei rund 1:2. Zwischen 2010 und 2016 sanken die direkten CO2-Emissionen um 6 % und der Emissionsgehalt der Konsumgüter um 1 %. Die letzten fünf Jahre zeigen hingegen insgesamt keinen Rückgang, sondern einen leichten Zuwachs der Emissionen.

Dieser Indikator weist Querbezüge zum Indikator 8.1 „Gesamtrohstoffproduktivität“ auf.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Zeitreihe 1

Indikator

12.1.ba Globale Umweltinanspruchnahme durch den Konsum privater Haushalte - Rohstoffeinsatz

Ziel

Kontinuierliche Reduzierung

Jahr

2015

2016

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Zeitreihe 2

Indikator

12.1.bb Globale Umweltinanspruchnahme durch den Konsum privater Haushalte - Energieverbrauch

Ziel

Kontinuierliche Reduzierung

Jahr

2015

2016

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Zeitreihe 3

Indikator

12.1.bc Globale Umweltinanspruchnahme durch den Konsum privater Haushalte - CO2-Emissionen

Ziel

Kontinuierliche Reduzierung

Jahr

2015

2016

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

 Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Organisation

Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)