Sustainable development in Germany - 17 Goals to Transform our World

Mobility – Guaranteeing mobility – protecting the environment

Indicator 11.2.a: Final energy consumption in goods transport

(Evaluation of the year 2018 as reporting year from indicator report 2021)

Selection

Select here what should be displayed in the chart and in the table.

This overview includes additional information on the indicators presented above, such as a brief definition of the indicator and a description of the politically determined target value, as well as the political intention for selecting the indicator.

Definition of indicators (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Final energy consumption in goods transport represents the energy consumption for the transport of goods within Germany via inland waterways, by rail and by road.

Target and intention of the German Government (Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy)

Transport creates a range of problems. For instance, noise and air pollution impair quality of life, especially in cities, and traffic-related emissions contribute to climate change. The emission of harmful greenhouse gases is closely linked to the energy consumed for transport purposes.

The aim is to reduce final energy consumption in goods transport by 15 to 20% by 2030.

Data state

The data published in the indicator report 2021 is as of 31.12.2020. The data shown on the DNS-Online-Platform is updated regularly, so that more current data may be available online than published in the indicator report 2021.

Last modification of code (data) 2021-06-30: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window
Last modification of code (text) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub opens in a new window

Taken from the official translation of the German Sustainable Development Strategy

The data regarding domestic final energy consumption originates from the TREMOD (Transport Emissions Estimation Model) database at the Institute for Energy and Environmental Research. TREMOD is a model for evaluating transport emissions. The data record fuel consumption within Germany irrespective of where refuelling takes place. “Final energy” refers to that part of the total energy used that is directly consumed in transport. It does not cover the conversion losses that arise during the production of fuels or any pipeline losses that may occur.

TREMOD also supplies the goods transport volumes which are used to calculate the specific energy consumption of this sector. Air freight transport is not included, as it accounts for negligibly small volumes.

By definition, the indicator for final energy consumption in goods transport refers to consumption within Germany. It gives only an inadequate reflection of the German economy’s increasingly complex international ties in a globalised world. As a result, transport flows and the associated energy consumption that arises due to German exports and imports are not included.

The energy-consumption data presented here is supplemented by energy efficiency, or energy consumed per tonne-kilometre. The number of tonne-kilometres provides information about the extent to which transport intensity or the distance per transported tonne changes.

Contrary to the German Government’s target, final energy consumption for the carriage of goods was 6.2% higher in 2018 compared with 2005. Goods thereby accounted for almost 30% of total final energy consumption in the transport sector. The sharp increase can be attributed primarily to freight transport by road. Final energy consumption in road goods transport increased by 7.8% during this period, while consumption for rail and inland shipping was significantly reduced (-5.3% and -26.7% respectively).

During the same period, goods transport volumes increased by 22.0%. In conjunction with comparable energy consumption in 2005 and 2018, this means a significant increase in efficiency of 13.0% during that time.

During the economic crisis of 2009, price-adjusted gross value added in the manufacturing industry suffered a particularly sharp decline of just under 20%. This heavy loss particularly affected the transport sector, which reacts directly to increases and falls in the production of goods. The resultant decrease in the utilisation of transport capacity explains why average energy consumption per tonne-kilometre rose slightly despite the sharp fall in overall energy consumption in absolute terms during the crisis years.

Besides the more short-term consequences of the economic crisis of 2009, a number of long-term ramifications also affected the development of final energy consumption in goods transport during the 2005 to 2018 review period. For instance, there was a decrease in the average number of manufacturing steps a company performs, something that is normally associated with greater transport volumes because companies procure more intermediate goods from domestic and international suppliers. Furthermore, the average distance between where goods are manufactured and where they are used increased, which also caused transport volumes to rise. These effects are countered by a shift towards a less material-intensive pattern of demand (e.g. increasing demand for services). The resulting change in the composition of goods volumes dampened the increase in transport-related energy consumption.

This summary table illustrates the evaluations of the indicator by status of previous years. This shows whether the weather symbol for an indicator has been stable or rather volatile in the past years. (Evaluations from the indicator report 2021)

Indicator

11.2.a Final energy consumption in goods transport

Target

Reduction by 15–20% by 2030

Year

2015

2016

2017

2018

Evaluation Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Source 1

 Federal Statistical Office

Organisation

Federal Statistical Office

Source 2

 Institute for Energy and Environmental Research

Organisation

Institute for Energy and Environmental Research

Nachhaltige Entwicklung in Deutschland -

Mobilität – Mobilität sichern – Umwelt schonen

Indikator 11.2.a: Endenergieverbrauch im Güterverkehr

(Bewertung des Bezugsjahres 2018 aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Auswahl

Wählen Sie hier aus, was in der Grafik bzw. Tabelle angezeigt werden soll.

Diese Übersicht beinhaltet zusätzliche Informationen zu den oben dargestellten Indikatoren, wie eine kurze Definition des Indikators und eine Beschreibung des politisch festgelegten Zielwertes sowie die politische Intention für die Auswahl des Indikators.

Definition
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Endenergieverbrauch im Gütertransport stellt den Energieverbrauch für den Transport von Gütern im Inland in der Binnenschifffahrt, im Eisenbahn- und im Straßengüterverkehr dar.

Ziel und Intention
(Text aus dem Indikatoren­bericht 2021)

Der Verkehr bringt eine Reihe von Problemen mit sich. So beeinträchtigen etwa Lärm und Luftschadstoffe die Lebensqualität insbesondere in Städten und verkehrsbedingte Emissionen tragen zum Klimawandel bei. Der Ausstoß von schädlichen Treibhausgasen steht in engem Zusammenhang mit der im Verkehr verbrauchten Energie.

Ziel ist es den Endenergieverbrauch im Güterverkehr bis zum Jahr 2030 um 15 bis 20 % zu senken.

Datenstand

Der Indikatorenbericht 2021 hat den Datenstand 31.12.2020. Die Daten auf der DNS-Online Plattform werden regelmäßig aktualisiert, sodass online aktuellere Daten verfügbar sein können als im Indikatorenbericht 2021 veröffentlicht.

Letzte Änderung des Codes (Daten) 2021-06-30: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen
Letzte Änderung des Codes (Texte) 2021-09-10: see changes on GitHub in neuem Fenster öffnen

Text aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021

Die Daten zum Endenergieverbrauch im Inland werden der Transport Emission Estimation Model (TREMOD)-Datenbank des Instituts für Energie- und Umweltforschung entnommen. TREMOD ist ein Modell zur Bewertung von Verkehrsemissionen. Die Daten enthalten die Treibstoffverbräuche innerhalb Deutschlands unabhängig vom Ort der Betankungen. Als Endenergie wird der direkt im Verkehr genutzte Teil der Energie bezeichnet. Die Umwandlungsverluste während der Herstellung der Kraftstoffe sowie eventuelle Leitungsverluste bleiben hierbei unberücksichtigt.

Die Beförderungsleistungen des Güterverkehrs zur Berechnung des spezifischen Energieverbrauchs in diesem Sektor stammen auch aus TREMOD. Dabei wird der Güterverkehr über den Luftweg nicht mit einbezogen, da er vergleichsweise sehr gering ist.

Der Indikator zum Endenergieverbrauch im Güterverkehr bezieht sich definitionsgemäß auf den Verbrauch im Inland. Die Einflüsse der zunehmenden Auslandsverflechtung der deutschen Wirtschaft im Rahmen der Globalisierung werden nur unzureichend wiedergegeben. Dadurch bleiben Verkehrsströme und die damit einhergehenden Energieverbräuche, die durch deutsche Exporte und Importe entstehen, unberücksichtigt.

Neben dem Energieverbrauch wird ergänzend auch die Energieeffizienz dargestellt, also der Energieverbrauch je Tonnenkilometer. Die Anzahl der Tonnenkilometer gibt Aufschluss darüber, inwieweit sich die Verkehrsleistung, also die transportierte Menge in Tonnen je gefahrenem Kilometer, ändert.

Der Endenergieverbrauch in der Güterbeförderung ist im Jahr 2018 gegenüber 2005 – entgegen dem angestrebten Ziel der Bundesregierung – um 6,2 % angestiegen. Er hat damit einen Anteil von knapp 30 % am gesamten Endenergieverbrauch des Verkehrs erreicht. Der starke Anstieg ist vor allem dem Gütertransport auf der Straße zuzuschreiben. Der Endenergieverbrauch im Straßengüterverkehr hat in diesem Zeitraum um 7,8 % zugenommen, während bei der Bahn und der Binnenschifffahrt der Verbrauch deutlich reduziert wurde (-5,3 % bzw. -26,7 %).

Im gleichen Zeitraum hat sich die Güterbeförderungsleistung um 22,0 % erhöht. Bei vergleichbarem Energieverbrauch in den Jahren 2005 und 2018 konnte dadurch eine deutliche Effizienzsteigerung um 13,0 % in diesem Zeitraum erreicht werden.

Während der Wirtschaftskrise von 2009 ist die preisbereinigte Bruttowertschöpfung im Verarbeitenden Gewerbe mit knapp 20 % besonders stark zurückgegangen. Dieser starke Einbruch wirkte sich insbesondere auf den Verkehrssektor aus, da dieser unmittelbar auf die Zu- und Abnahme der Warenproduktion reagiert. Die daraus resultierende geringere Auslastung der Transportkapazitäten erklärt den leichten Anstieg des durchschnittlichen Energieverbrauchs je Tonnenkilometer, obwohl der absolute Energieverbrauch insgesamt während der Krisenjahre stark zurückging.

Neben den eher kurzfristigen Auswirkungen der Wirtschaftskrise von 2009 beeinflussten im Betrachtungszeitraum 2005 bis 2018 auch langfristige Effekte die Entwicklung des Endenergieverbrauchs im Gütertransport. So hat sich die Anzahl der Fertigungsschritte je Unternehmen verringert, was in der Regel mit einem erhöhten Transportaufkommen verbunden ist, da die Unternehmen verstärkt Vorprodukte von Zulieferern aus dem In- und Ausland beziehen. Darüber hinaus wuchs die durchschnittliche Entfernung zwischen dem Produktionsort der Güter und dem Ort ihrer Verwendung an, was den Transportaufwand zusätzlich steigerte. Diesen Effekten steht ein Wandel der Nachfragestruktur hin zu weniger materialintensiven Gütern gegenüber (z. B. steigende Nachfrage nach Dienstleistungen). Die daraus resultierende Veränderung bei der Zusammensetzung des Güteraufkommens milderte den Anstieg des transportbedingten Energieverbrauchs ab.

In dieser Übersichtstabelle sind die Bewertungen des Indikators für Deutschland nach Stand der vorhergehenden Jahre dargestellt. Daran lässt sich ablesen, ob das Wettersymbol für einen Indikator in den vergangenen Jahren stabil oder eher volatil war. (Bewertungen aus dem Indikatorenbericht 2021)

Indikator

11.2.a Endenergieverbrauch im Güterverkehr

Ziel

Senkung um 15 bis 20 % bis 2030

Jahr

2015

2016

2017

2018

Bewertung Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich Keine Bewertung möglich

Datenquelle 1

 Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Organisation

Statistisches Bundesamt (Destatis)

Datenquelle 2

 Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung Heidelberg gGmbH (ifeu)

Organisation

Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung Heidelberg gGmbH (ifeu)